Dell Hard Drive Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2004, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to warpig2003
Default Dell Hard Drive Questions

Hello, I'm not sure on the exact model, but I have a Dell Dimension and that I recieved it around May 2003. I got the computer with a 60 gig and now I'd like to use that as my master hard drive, while adding a 80 to 120 gig hard drive as a slave for mostly just file (mp3, documents, few short videos) storage.

Now, my question is... is there anything I need to worry about? What scares me is that I searched this site some and saw that people had troubles uprgrading Dells. My buddy is good at computers and offered to help, but I'd like to know what I'm doing before hand so I don't **** up my computer.

Is there a certain brand hard drive I should look for? If I'm using it as my slave and not using it for games or anything, should I worry much about the speed of the hard drive?

Also, would the master still read the slave if i I installed the slave and then reformat the master hard drive? Basically I'm just a college kid that has alot of crap that I don't want lost of my master hard drive crashes.

Thanks for all the help.
__________________

warpig2003 is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 01:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

You just need to find if your motherboard has SATA connections on the mobo. If not, just grab a EIDE hard drive, and check your current hard drive to see where to set the jumpers as master, and the new drive to see where to set the jumpers to slave...
Yan
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Another suggestion, get more RAM while you are at it...
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to warpig2003
Default

i have 512mb ram and im pretty happy with how fast it runs, do i really need to worry about that or does the ram get affected by adding another drive? all i do is download music, homework, and check email basically.

do i need a special hard drive if it has SATA connections? from your response it seems that most hard drives are EIDE so id have to look for one with SATA connections. SATA is the newer and better connection right?
warpig2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.