Dell Dimension 4100+Radeon 9600XT 128MB?!*Please Help* - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Question Dell Dimension 4100+Radeon 9600XT 128MB?!*Please Help*

Ok, I don't have much time left but i'm buying a new video card, the ATI Radeon 9600XT 128MB, on ebay, which is why not much time left, the thing is I don't know if it will destroy my computer.


My specs:

-Pentuim3
-1Ghz
-320 RAM
-Currently running is my Geforce2 MX 400 (32MB)running at x4 AGP
-Windows ME/XP(Currently using P but having probs goign back to ME)
-Donno if Helps but I think i have a power supply of 200W

Please respond!

Please don't say get a new computer, I really don't have the money...
__________________

Chrono21 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

hmm u mite need to get a new PSU if u buy it, Dell and HP etc usually only supply the exact amount, and a 9600xt will take a lot more than a geforce 2
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

comp seems kinda slow to me for that video card cpu will really bottleneck the card i think.
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Even if it doesn't run the card at full power will it work better than my Geforce2.

I donno much about hardware.
Chrono21 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

200 watt is cuttin' it very very close i think......i would think that 250 would be a absolute min if your puttin' that card in....i ran a p3 500, 1 hd and a geforce 4 mx 420 on a 250watt though....ran a voodoo 5 on it too....*shrugs* if i were you...i'd get a new psu though....350watt would be great for that system.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

You think? What could happen to my computer?
Chrono21 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

just not get enough power and run like poop probably.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

My friend's Dimension 8200 runs on 200W with a Northwood P4 and a GeForce4 Ti 4200. Your P3 is less power-hungry, but in all seriousness, you should consider investing in a beefier power supply.

The worst that could happen to your computer is instability (e.g. frequent self-resets, etc.).
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Ok thanks, so this new video card help me play my games better? not talking HL2 and stuff but will it overall help my PCs preformance in games so they not laggy as they are now(some games are laggy not all). Lag not the term but low FPS.
Chrono21 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

You should read this article:

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...120/index.html

Tests were performed on an Athlon 1 GHz, which should be near what you're using.

There is a noticeable difference over your current card, however you will not be able to maximize its potential.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.