dell dimension 2350 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2004, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 50
Default dell dimension 2350

Hi guys i need some more help,I have a couple of pc`s and one of them I use for a server for teamspeak and games and so forth,and that is all it is used for.The one that I use for a server is a dell dimension 2350,it has onboard everything of course(lol).Now I would like to ask a couple of questions,1st what kind of pci card can I add to this pc for better graphics than the intel extreme (lol what a joke)that is onboard.I know that alot of people have had a lot of problems with setting a pci card up in this pc.Does anyone have any experience with this.What kind of card will work?And 2nd ,canI add a sound card to this pc ,well will it take any added stress off of the cpu by doing this,if it will it would be worth it i guess to do so.Thank you in advance
boomer
__________________

boomer is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

OLDER graphics cards as well are in PCI, which will to some extent bring some performance boost over this condition as adding graphic card on a integrated board brings benefits in 2 ways mainly:

1: free up CPU, as in integrated case, CPU has to do most of the work of graphic processing.

2: free up RAM as well, as in integrated case, VGA shares system RAM.


although you can only find significant perfeomance boost sa in case you have AGP slot, which dell dimension 2350 hasnt.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I've seen GeForce FX 5200 PCI and Radeon 9200 and 9600 PCI Cards. They range in $100-$160 or so. Upgrading to any of these (the Radeon 9600 is the best of them) will free up CPU and RAM usage, just like Blind_Arrow said.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 50
Default

yes thnx guys but the mobo is very (picky) it will only take certain cards and what I need to know is if anyone has aded a pci card to this perticular mobo (pc) and how and what they had to do,although i should probably ebay the mobo and start over lol.
boomer is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 09:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

I dont think 9600 and 9200 coming in PCI versions sa well, better is to EBAY the Mobo and get a new one. at least you'll be available with AGP slot, means bigger horizon of choosing graphic cards rather than buying PCI's only (lower chips)
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.