Dell + AMD = Possible - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2005, 08:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Lol Nice Edit... I liked the backwards tags you had...
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 08:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
They have fairly good technology? AMD makes the best TOP CPU in every CPU class. Fairly good technology... yeah... ok.
I smell a fanboy! While I admit, AMD is much better for gaming, intel does better in the for business applications, photoshop, etc... Also, don't even say for one second that AMD is better overclocking. Generally speaking, intel CPUs overclock much more than AMD CPUs, however AMD has more cycles per clock. It all really balances itself out. It just depends on what you use your computer for. Also, it is well known that single core intel cpus are better at multitasking than single core amd cpus, however you do not usually multitask while gaming. no flaming please, these are just cold, hard and unbiased facts.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 09:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Apple using Intel, Dell using AMD - HELL IS FREEZING OVER!!!!!!! THE UNIVERSE HAS BEEN UNBALANCED.

Oh well, it would be good for AMD.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 09:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Also, don't even say for one second that AMD is better overclocking.
This is a bit debatable, as I said AMD certainly gears itself towards the overclocking market, example being fixing the cold bug in the Venice chips...a company that goes out of the way to fix something like that which effects a very small amount of the market would be "better" at overclocking by my definition since they are engineering their chips with the thought of overclocking in mind
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 09:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

whats the cold bug?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 09:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Yes the world is coming to an end.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
I smell a fanboy!
No. I've been in this forum for a awhile now and you should know that i'm not a AMD fan boy.

The simple fact of it all is, "Look at all benchmarks of all of the TOP CPU's in every class of CPU." And then tell me what you see???

Dual Core is ?
Fastest Single Core is ?
Server CPU's is ?

Answer those questions and you'll get my point about, "Fairly good technology."

Yeah, actually I am a fan boy of PC Power and Cooling, that's it.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

thats understandable, i dont think your statement is fanboyish.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Dell + AMD = Possible

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Read this little fancy article about Dell planing on using AMD cpus if the demand gets high enough for them....

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=22401
But that is going to give AMD a bad name...... j/k



ON a serious note, what ever happened to that lawsuit that AMD was trying to bring up with Intel for unfair trade practices earlier this year? :question:
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Intel is going to lose a TON of business !
AMD's are just cheaper.
B.S.
There is a few factors to think about here.

Firstly you have AMD. They themselves do rarely advertise their products. They expect the channel parters to do that for them. They are the Dealers, Distributers, Resellers, OEM Manfactuers, Software Devs to do that for them. Apart from a few advertisment here and there, AMD has this whole entire "WORD OF MOUTH" approach for them.
As where you have intel...... I think it's impossible for me to walk into a cinema now days who out seeing those ****ING blue bald guys show up the screen, let alone all the other advertising that I see intel doing which is almost impossible to avoid.
BTW.... does any here remember the name of the AMD Mobile Processor that is compeating directly with Intel Centrino. I can seem to remember as seems to be a handful of smaller manufactuers that are actually using them.

And then you intel. First you have their Geunie Intel Dealer programs which forces channel partners to purchase min. quanities of their CPU per quarter.
And then there is the recient stuff that has come to light where Intel will provide a cheaper price on their CPUs to big brand names provided that the big brand name does not purchase or promote AMD CPUs.

Even though I am an AMD Fan Boy myself, AMD really needs to get their *** in to gear in the Marketing Department. The real reason why AMD does not sell that well is that Joe End User is not even award that their product exist in the first place.


Intel is in NO DANGER of loosing market share for some time to come.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.