Dell + AMD = Possible - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2005, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Dell + AMD = Possible

Read this little fancy article about Dell planing on using AMD cpus if the demand gets high enough for them....

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=22401
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

If they do that and stop using intel products then that will be a big hit for intel corporation!
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i dont think they will stop using intel i think they will amd cpus as an option.u know like by special request.
edit why is this in the o/c section?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Because i am at school and couldnt really leave this page in time to post it before someone else posted it before me? lol
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It's obvious why this is happening...AMDs lawsuit has probably stopped Intel using "rebates" for only using Intel proccesors so now Dell has no reason not to cash in on the AMD market

Don't like this to be honest...AMD is nice because they are sort of underground and focus their attention to the overclocking community, but this might change that
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 04:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Yea, once the marketing and **** comes in then there prices will go up while there product becomes complete ****. Plus there hasnt been much talk lately about that lawsuit and CPU (COMPUTER POWER USER) thinks that they are close to settling.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 07:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

it will be like alienware. offering both intel and amd. but i still wouldnt buy from dell, even if they offered amds
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Intel is going to lose a TON of business !
AMD's are just cheaper.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

maybe intel will do somethign, and come back with somethign really good and cheap. i dont think so lol.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 08:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Pffff...

What a crock of crap that article is.
"The man himself said that Dell was "still looking at AMD; they have fairly good technology". Nice of him to say so."


They have fairly good technology? AMD makes the best TOP CPU in every CPU class. Fairly good technology... yeah... ok.

Dell doesn't want to go AMD because they have invested too much time and money into engineering "GARBAGE INTEL PC'S" with "GARBAGE" Intel Compatible components. So, Providing a AMD based PC will require them to engineer some "GARBAGE" AMD compatible components which will cost them valuable dollars as an intital investment.

"If the customers really, really, want them."

Yeah, we freakin' want them, but we're certainly not going to come to you to build it and sell it to us. Dell, stick to making your craptastic Intel Based PC's and stay the hell away from AMD, you'll only foul that up too...

NOW BUY A DELL "AMD" or "INTEL" craptastic PC starting as low as $299.00.... !!!!!!

You can buy a calculator for $299.00 - scientific, but still.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.