Is this a decent system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2007, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default Is this a decent system?

I'm about to trade something for an older computer. I know nothing about computers. Are these decent specs?

It's an older Compaq Presario.

System: Intel Pentium III, 500 MHz
Memory: 128MB RAM
Disk: Drive C
Video: ATI Technologies, Inc. 3D RAGE PRO AGP 2X
Internet: MSIE 6.0; SV1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727
Windows: Windows XP Home SP2
__________________

neanderthal13 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

wow thats old... its like ancient.... what are u trading for ?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

A PS1. lol.
neanderthal13 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

For purely email/browsing the web, go for it... (add a little RAM and this PC would be ideal for such a machine). Note: It will not be able to handle ANY games beyond the original Diablo, though. Starcraft if you're lucky.
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

go for it... unless u wanna game... then thats stupid... stick with ur ps1...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 05:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

even my puny system pwns it.... but ur P3 still owns the Williamette P4's so the day is still bright
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

u could use it as for music and video. I have an old amd k6 500mhz that I use for watchin videos in a room in my basement.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
u could use it as for music and video. I have an old amd k6 500mhz that I use for watchin videos in a room in my basement.
Aha yes. That too. It's good for most anything except games / 3d imaging / video-editing. The psycho stuff.
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

storage server, media extender..........
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Is this a decent system?

Paper Weight.




__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.