The Deal with Hardware Profiles? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2006, 07:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Question The Deal with Hardware Profiles?

I was under the assumption that creating one could create different hardware profiles to tweak for different needs. So I wanted to create profiles for DAW use and/or gaming. I went ahead and started tweaking this hardware profile and disabled windows services, disabled startup progs, background progs, disabled drivers for devices, removed wallpaper, turned off screensavers, visual candy crap, etc only to log into the "regular" profile and find that it looked exactly like this tweaked profile with all the things i needed in that profile disabled.

so what gives?

the only thing i could have thought the problem is, is me using the system default "adminstrator" as a profile rather then creating 2 separate profiles with adminstrator privalleges and tweaking from there.

eesotereh is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 07:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Mjmitch2's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152

As far as I know Hardware Profiles are only useful for laptops in "docked" and "undocked" situations. I have never heard of using them on a desktop before.

"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66

yea the idea sort fo started in the DAW (digital audio workstation) world. but i myself am not even to sure about it
eesotereh is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
superdave1984's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980

Hardware profiles only work on hardware. NIC's, drives, etc. Not software or programs. You need to use Group Policy editor for that.
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66

Group Policy editor, ok cool. But is there any programs that don't require xp pro? I have home ed.
eesotereh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.