Dead battery on new MSI Mobo and malfunctioning clear cmos button - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2005, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default Dead battery on new MSI Mobo and malfunctioning clear cmos button

Well I got an MSI Neo 4 K8N SLI motherboard a few months ago and first thing I noticed is the date and time were reset for when it was first powered up. I thought it must just be the battery needed to charge or something so though nothing of it. But today when I was overclocking I had to clear the cmos but when I did nothing happened so I tried turning off the psu and viola. But that shouldn't have worked so I guess I have a dead battery, right? And why didn't the button work? Does MSI warrant these problems?

WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Well, if you turned off your PSU and your CMOS reset, then it is possible that your CMOS battery is dead. It could also be a clever feature of your mobo. Some mobos will reset the BIOS to factory defaults when it senses that you have made a bad overclock config, and knows that it is so bad that it cant properly boot.

As for the button not working, I am not sure. I would try making a simple change in CMOS (like the boot order), then shutting down and pressing the CMOS reset button. Then go back into CMOS setup and see if that changed it back to the original settings. If it turns out that it doesnt reset the CMOS, then, I suppose you could send the mobo back, depending on your warrenty, etc.


Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006

Ok, this is confusing. Don't you usually shut down all power before moving the cmos jumpers to clear it off? My understanding is that moving the cmos prevents the battery from supplying power to the bios chip, and that supplying power to the mobo through an open power supply would just make moving the jumpers redundant. I may be wrong here though.
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing

Elbatrop1: Thanks I'll try it

Hacp: Yeah but that's if you're using that method. The clear CMOS button just clears it for you so you don't have to remove the jumpers or the battery.
WisdomRacing is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.