DDRs... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 08:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming, USA
Posts: 58
Default DDRs...

I'm entertaining the idea of a new build (first one) but curious as to how much DDR3 will gain for me in PC power. I'm a console gamer so I don't need a super power PC, but I do enjoy HD videos and the like. My wife will most likely continue with her Facebook games so flash capabilities would be needed, but I don't think that is too high of a demand. As I understand it, there is a nominal difference between DDR2 and DDR3. Mainly power consumption and the transfer rate is twice as high, but tech specs aside; is there a big real world difference? Given the price diff. and my low budget am I shooting myself in the foot by going w/ a DDR2 setup?

BloodyMercy is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: DDRs...

Well, more advanced system use DDR3 today. It is mainstream now.

As to how much? 4GB is the norm of today. Anything over it for gaming is overkill. I, myself, have 8GB, but I run many virtual machines, so beneficial.

Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-01-2011, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2011
Location: near Atlanta, Ga USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: DDRs...

Don't forget about the new SATA hard drive difference in todays modern builds. The slowest part of most systems is the transfer of data in/out of the hard drives. Today you can get twice the transfer at 6GBps over the old transfer of 3GBps. Also I think it's Intel that has done away with the north bridge directly going from cpu to memory. I don't have time to research it but there are several major improvements including USB 3.0 which transfers at 10 times faster rate of USB 2,0.

There is a lot to consider. We haven't even talked about SSD instead of hard drives but you can use those now without upgrading our system.

redham is offline  
Old 05-01-2011, 06:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: DDRs...

North Bridge still exists, it just doesn't house the memory controller, and both AMD and Intel systems now use a single North Bridge that controls basically everything but memory, unless the board has a built in GPU, then it uses 2 chipsets.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.