DDR3 by 2006 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default DDR3 by 2006

Yeesh.....DDR2 isn't even fully implimented yet and by 2006 they are going to be releasing 80nm DDR3 modules that work appearantly at 1066MHz

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/memory/...329054638.html

So basically I might as well not even buy a computer for two years
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
So basically I might as well not even buy a computer for two years
Ya but by then they will announce DDR4 to come out in 2 years
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Something tells me it's going to crash and burn miserably in the same fashion as Rambus. It's a good innovation yes, but we're still looking at DDR1 holding at least 75% of the market at this point and time.

However, this means that DDR2 prices will coming crashing down, therefore AMD makes the switch to them, and I'm a happy panda. This development isn't going to sway my buying decisions at all.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah but this is coming from Samsung Gaara. They are the industry leaders in System RAM and graphics card RAM modules. They aren't some BS company coming up with just random new innovations. They got their shyte down and know what they are doing as far as creating the best stuff out there.

Still, we've been bombarded with hardware changes this year, going from AGP to PCI-E requires a new mobo, CPU, PSU, graphics card, and then it might require DDR2 within a year, or then perhaps DDR3, it's getting ridiculous, it's impossible to keep up
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Oh no, I'm not saying the technology behind it isn't going to be good, it'll be amazing as far as I'm concerned, it's just too soon for it. It's not going to be appealing to consumers based on the fact that it'll have limited compatibility, and it'll cost wayyy too much.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yup, no doubt it would cost a small fortune...bah...these uprades in hardware are nice, really pushing the limits of computing, but man, they are switching it all up too quickly
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Yeah, I think computers these days are only good for one "major" upgrade. After that, it's just better to to build everything from scratch :s.. Evolving way too fast. :s
Chankama is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yup, no doubt it would cost a small fortune...bah...these uprades in hardware are nice, really pushing the limits of computing, but man, they are switching it all up too quickly
Progress gets progressively faster, usually does.

The only people affected are guys like many of the one's that hang in places like this--->gamers,for the rest of the folks out there, this kind of thing isnt too important really.For the majority of personal computer users out there, the manufactuerers hit the overkill zone long ago.Doesnt take much to web surf, do office tasks, and play or watch media.

In some ways im liking it, the hardware that is obsolete now is still good for lots of tasks, and its dirt cheap because of all this "progress".Heck, a person can have a decent and capable PC these days for what many of you pay for a graphics card LOL.

I used to chase the hardware a few years ago, I remember the first time I paid $400 for a graphics card, I remember thinking "this is way out of hand", prices havent changed that much, the hardware has just gotten better.But what was $400 a couple years ago now can be had for $20-$30 in many cases.Thats one thing about PC hardware, there's essentially no equity, its a never ending vicious cycle to stay at the cutting edge.
horndude is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Doesnt take much to web surf, do office tasks, and play or watch media.
Yeah but to do that takes like a 750MHz duron IF that and windows 95. TheMajors computer is what...300MHz and he never complains about it or anything and seems to get around just fine on it.

So yeah of course it's gamers, or people who like 3d work, photoshopping, things of that nature.

But in terms of gaming I hate basically thinking "Without being rich you'll never see better than medium graphics" thats lame.

Might as well buy an Xbox, a one time investment and you're guaranteed your games for that will be playable at 'max settings'
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Well, unfortunately the reasons youve listed above are exactly why I got out of it.Back in the day of flight sim98,x-plane, etc etc, I used to have 3 or 4 vid cards cause games were buggy as could be and would only run properly with certain cards LOL, it rapidly became a $3000/year investment that was worthless in 8-9months just to keep up with memory,CPU's,and vid cards.

These days, to play dvd's, do most basic stuff, and not have to worry about having upgrade very often, a person can easily build a system for a few hundred bucks.Ive got a duron 800 I still use regularly, and I got it when it first came out a LONG time ago, it does just fine, heck when it was new it did quite well with games, now on Doom 3 the FPS is like 8-10fps(read not playable).But for everything else it does just fine, its a good stable workhorse.Probelm is for what I paid for it then, I can easily build a system thats 4-6 times faster, that sucks bigtime, makes me feel used.Your not alone, progress waits for nobody.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.