DDR2 and AMD: Jumping the Shark? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2005, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default DDR2 and AMD: Jumping the Shark?

Quote:
Advanced Micro Devices, who has always been very conservative over DDR2 support, is reported to be considering to skip support of DDR2 SDRAM and jump on the bandwagon of DDR3 or XDR memory later during the decade.
http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...422004356.html

This decision can have a serious impact and has the possibility of making or breaking either Intel or AMD. If AMD chooses to stick with DDR Intel may crash and burn with their overpriced platforms, but AMD may slip behind in performance sticking to DDR for such an extended period of time.

I personally, am physched over this news, and hope that AMD carries through with it and sticks with DDR. That not only means that my DDR I buy now may still have future applications, it also means the price of DDR modules will just keep dropping and dropping making AMD a very affordable and powerful platform.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I completely agree gaara. Now I know I didn't waste money on good DDR1 haha....and by the time I need to upgrade to DDR3 it will DEFINITELY be time to ugprade the computer haha.

gotta love this part:

Quote:
Samsung Electronics announced in mid-February it had made the worldÂ’s first 512Mb memory chip which complies to next-generation DDR3 standard and can operate at the speed on 1066MHz. The prototype operates at 1.5V and transfers data at the speed of 1066Mbps
Hmmmm delicious! You know also they will just keep stretching the limits of DDR1 memory further and further. I believe currently OCZ was able to get DDR800 lol, that's insane.

The one main thing of course is that XDR doesn't come out ridiculously priced like RDRAM.......

Man, 1000+ pinned CPUs with dual core architecutres, 1mb+ of L2 cache and probably well over 10gb/sec memory bandwidth!?!

Ahhhh! :drool:
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Indeed, and it's funny that just yesterday I was asking myself 'is it really worth buying G.Skill PC4400 for just the overclocking headroom?' Now, I can safely say that yes, it is.

I am seriously hoping they follow through with this. I'm confident that they will since they've been so reluctant to DDR2 so far, and with DDR speeds constantly climbing with MUCH better timings I wouldn't see why not.

I wanna see DDR carried over to Socket M2, I'll hold onto my socket 939 system until near the end of the newer socket, snag a processor and parts for cheap, pop in my old RAM and whoosh, I'm off.

Then in 2009 when they introduce their next platform or whatever then they move to DDR3 which by then should be both affordable and wicked fast, and I'll be happy, happy, happy.

And yeah, I don't like the idea of XDR RAM, they should just stick to DDR similar to what GPU manufacturers are doing. DDR memory has been proven to have no limits as of yet, sooooo don't fix what isn't broken.

I'm so freaking happy though, this news made my day.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 12:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

They were saying 2nd half of 2006 they'd start to impliment the new DDR I thought? or 2nd half of 2007

The only thing I see about 2009 is they hope to have 85% of the market flooded with DDR3
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 12:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yeah, chances are they'll introduce DDR3 to the socket M2 platform which is due out in the first half of next year. I'd just personally prefer it if they kept socket M2 to DDR1, but I'm confident my socket 939 will hold up so I'm not really concerned.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 12:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I think its a good idea that AMD is skipping DDR2 and going to DDR3. It is kinda hard for AMD to jump on every new type of memory like Intel can due to the on-die memory controller vs the Northbridge chip.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.