DDR vs GDDR3 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 03:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

It could very well have DDR and not GDDR3. I've seen 6800's with DDR and not GDDR3, so it is entirely possible. I hope you didnt screw yourself man.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 04:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The DDR in 6800's is 700mhz, which is slower

DDR or GDDR3, it's 980mhz witha 256 bit bus and it's damned fast. DDR or GDDR3 wont make a difference, bus and clock do
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 04:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

just RMA while there is still time... 280 bux for that dude? you just threw some cash out the window...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Let me repeat myself. the X800xl has for sure 16 pipelines and uses GDDR3 memory. THe X800 has 12 pipelines and uses GDDR3 memory.

The nviida 6800GTs and ultras has 16 pipelines and uses GDDR3 memory. Nvidia 6800 uses DDR memory and has 12 pipelines. The X800XL is the poor man's X850 and is aimed as competition against the 6800GT.
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

the x800xl is faster than a 6600gt.
ROger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
It could very well have DDR and not GDDR3. I've seen 6800's with DDR and not GDDR3, so it is entirely possible. I hope you didnt screw yourself man.
you make it sound as if there's only a few 'special' 6800's that fall into that category...if it's a plain 6800 , then it's not GDDR3....simple as that...it's the GT series and up that has it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

my 6600GT has GDDR3
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by damasta55r
the x800xl is faster than a 6600gt.
ROger
...and more than 2x the price
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 06:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

i think ill keep it, I just want it to play on high for all games and for the next year or so
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 06:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

there are no ddr xls I believe

and the consences on this card from this forum, is because it does not have sm3.0 it sucks
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.