Ddr Vs. Ddr2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2005, 05:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I think DDR2 is here to stay, its just ahead of its time.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

did someone say 1GHz RAM?

http://www.ocztechnology.com/aboutocz/press/2005/135


OCZ PC2-8000 lol
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 06:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

i do believe that DDR2 runs at half the actual clock speed internally... so if it runs at 800Mhz externally its really running at 200 Mhz DDR internally... just remember reading an article on it in a computer mag, so we will see, im going with best performance no matter what it may be...
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 11:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Leonidas
i do believe that DDR2 runs at half the actual clock speed internally... so if it runs at 800Mhz externally its really running at 200 Mhz DDR internally... just remember reading an article on it in a computer mag, so we will see, im going with best performance no matter what it may be...
huh? It is still DDR RAM, so yes, the actual frequency is half the advertized speed, but 800MHz DDR2 RAM would still run at 400MHz actual speed, not 200MHz...
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

wow 1ghz mmmm.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

DDR2 is here to stay, it is the natural progression from DDR. I think you can build only the Intel platforms with DDR2 at least until the end of the year when AMD comes out with theirs.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Guess I have no choice but to get DDR for now, cause I am sold on getting an AMD processor. Save money that way too. w00p
aboynamedmatt is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

I am guestimating by the end of the year or sooner is when motherboard manufacturers will have AMD DDR2 boards available but of course this is only guess work at best.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It is my advice that you avoid DDR2 at any and all costs, until the transition to DDR3 or XDR RAM takes place. DDR2 has impressive speeds at the moment, but is notorious for horribly high latencies. If you don't believe me, just look at VRAM, GDDR2 was virtually skipped over because companies recognised the high latency issue and switched to DDR3, which corrects this problem.

XDR RAM is the best, boasting DDR3 speeds with DDR1 timings (supposedly), but with Rambus spearheading this technology it may be difficult to force upon the market, especially if it is pricey.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 07:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Rombus all the way!!!!!!
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.