Ddr Vs. Ddr2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35
Default Ddr Vs. Ddr2

Hey guys I was wondering what the main differences are between DDR and DDR2. I was thinking about upgrading to another motherboard and I was wondering about whether or not to get one with DDR2 or not. Is it really worth the price difference? Also is it better to get DDR2 with AMD or Intel (I'm not even sure if AMD boards have DDR2 support yet)?
__________________

aboynamedmatt is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

DDR2 is 533mhz and has the notch off center by like 2 pins.. not sure if there are any other differences.

I don't see ddr being phased out anytime soon. The limitations are currently on MB bus throughput and hard drive throughput. Having an increase from 4500mb/s of memory throughput to 6000mb/s of throughput really isnt going to do you any good if your hds only churn out 50mb/s.

Until otherwise noted, you always want to go with amd. they're currently the king of processors.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Do you think it will hurt me in the long run to not get DDR2 though, like do you think programs will catch up to it soon and it will make a difference?

by the way, nice computer ^^ i want one similar
aboynamedmatt is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

DDR2 is going to be like RDRAM i believe.. here today gone tomorrow.

It does the trick, not as great as it looks on paper.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

DDR2 has faster stock speeds than DDR1 RAM, I believe that they've hit 800MHz with DDR2 but I'm not certain. I know for a fact they at least have DDR2 667. However, DDR2 has much higher latencies than DDR1 RAM, and costs a helluva lot more.

DDR2 is an Intel only platform at the moment, if you are buying an LGA775 system you will be using DDR2, and any other socket will use DDR1. There is no choice between the two.

In my opinion, it would be best to get a cost effective Athlon 64, 3000+ is dirt cheap right now as is DDR1 compared to DDR2. Hypertransport bus makes up for the DDR2 bandwidth with speeds up to 8.4GB/s.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea gaara that is what I believed aswell, just to point it out.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 10:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
I'm not even sure if AMD boards have DDR2 support yet
Youre right, AMD doesnt use DDR2.

Quote:
not sure if there are any other differences
DDR2 uses 240 pins as well.

Quote:
DDR2 is going to be like RDRAM i believe.. here today gone tomorrow.
I disagree. There is enough computers out there now that have/support DDR2 that it is gonna be here to stay.

Quote:
I believe that they've hit 800MHz with DDR2 but I'm not certain
It was a few days ago I went to tomshardware to post a link for the 800MHz, but now it is up to 1000MHz:
http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews...10_200025.html


The skt775 systems that I have used seem pretty fast. If you like Intel, then skt 775 with DDR2 would be pretty sweet
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 10:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2412&p=5
LoTeX is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 11:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

And what's funny about that as well is

That's 6.4 gig of bandwdith, im using high latency cheap generic PC3200 DDR RAM on an AMD system and getting 5800

So if you run ram with decent timings at PC3500, AMD will outpeform intel RAM Wise
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 01:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Well, yeah, it has a CL of 5 , but this does show the potential of DDR2. And just to let aboynamedmatt know, AMD is also planning on going DDR2 next year.

So what would the bandwidth be with the onboard controller, CL2 and 1GHz RAM running 1:1?
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.