DDR duel vs single channel - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 08:11 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

sounds good.....ill go with the 1gb then.....now what if the 512 is PC2700 and the 1gb is PC3200? will it still work?
__________________

lostmanTech is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 08:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I'm not sure....I know that if you use pc133 and pc100 it will all run as pc100 but I don't think you can mix the two 184 pin memeory sticks...anybody???
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 08:17 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
now what if the 512 is PC2700 and the 1gb is PC3200? will it still work?
if you're asking if dual channel will work then I know someone already said on the previous page

"The two sticks must be a matching pair"

The pc3200 will underclock to PC2700 speeds though, put the same timings on them and it MIGHT work in DC but I guarantee nothing

Quote:
but I don't think you can mix the two 184 pin memeory sticks...anybody???
Why wouldn't you be able to.....

The higher RAM will simply underclock to meet the slower
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 08:27 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

There ya go. So it is the same principle as pc 100 and pc 133 mixed memeory sticks. The Pc 133 will underclock to the PC100.
But why underclock the DDR 400? 1 gig is sufficient amount of memory and you might as well use the faster memory. By the way, two sticks of 512 PC3200 can be run dual channel as long as they are a matched pair.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 08:37 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
But why underclock the DDR 400? 1 gig is sufficient amount of memory and you might as well use the faster memory.
If he's mixing 1 512mb PC2700 with 1 512mb of PC3200 to achieve that 1gb its going to underclock automatically.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 08:38 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default

How do you check for dual channel support on a laptop? .I'm thinking about buying HP L2000 Special Edition that was just released today.
strategist333 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 08:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

What processor and chipset and socket is the laptop?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 09:21 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default

Processor is Turion (ML-37); I'm not sure about chipset, couldn't find out.
strategist333 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 08:54 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default

OK, Found out: chipset is ATI RADEON XPRESS 200m; socket 754
__________________

strategist333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.