damn sata drive! help! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2004, 07:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by busa_4
i loaded the xp driver and tried to install it when i selected f6 and it said there is an error. there are seven seperate files that come up under D:\raid\via\/driverdisk\sata
which ones do i need to install on the floppy? they are listed below:

2003ia32
win98-me
win2000
winnt40
winxp
TXTSETUP.OEM
vt8237

i only loaded the file named winxp to the floppy and it came up as an error. what other of the 7 files do i need to include?
Copy all of them.
__________________

-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default

ok i guess i will copy all of them. something told me i should of done that in the beginning.
thanks
__________________

busa_4 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 06:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default

alright i loaded d:\RAID\VIA\/DriverDisk\SATA\
onto a floppy and it worked great! windows xp loaded up. now i have a new problem! as i was loading the software for the video card i purchased the computer locked up. i reset the computer and it started to load and then an error message came up stating a file was corupted. it states i was missing the file
<windows root>\system32\hal.dll.
what the hell happened? i promise, i didnt do anything but install drivers for my video card. help! help! help!
busa_4 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 11:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Download the drivers from the manufacture's website. That will definatly fix the problem.

P.S.: I'm glad to hear u got the SATA controller working.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default

do i have to load it on a floppy again?
busa_4 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default

i went to the ecs home page and i couldnt find a link for drivers.
busa_4 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 04:40 AM   #17 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

No... Just download the drivers for your VIDEO CARD from the manufacture's site!

Ex.: http://www.ati.com -or- http://www.nvidia.com
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 07:20 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default

oh-doh, that makes more sense. thanks. i have never had this many problems building a computer. my previous computer went smoothly. this one is a nightmare! thankyou all for dealing with me. when it comes to software related issues, that is my downfall.
__________________

busa_4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.