D: > C: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2004, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Default D: > C:

i have a comp where disk D: (40.2 GB, NTFS) is bigger than disk C: (15.5 GB, FAT32)

i barely use D: 486 MB/40.2 GB

.... can i switch them?
make C: to D:

HOW?
__________________

papu is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

the reason D is bigger is because it was intended to store all of you files in case you need to use the restore CD or reinstall the operating system. this has the potential to wipe out all files on drive C, hence drive D is bigger to store all data.

i suggest you do not attempt to do this. if you must insist use partition magic software to resize both partitions so C is bigger and D is smaller. C will take space away from D so D will shrink accordingly. use this at your own risk.

this software has the potential to fail and corrupt your partitions, even through no fault from the user. backup data to another storage media like another hard disk or burn to CD's, ect.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

Might be a dumb question, but can you just switch the IDE cables and reset the jumpers to make D: the new C: format it, then make C: the new D:? Hope that makes sense.

2 of my 3 Hd's have Win98 on them, and before I upgraded to XP (while I still had my old computer) I interchanged them like that, and it worked flawlessly.
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Nope, that would screw your boot file. Also, the windows folder is on the C:\.

Personally, I make my system partition smaller and then store everything on a larger partition on the same disk.

And like E said, using software to do this is very risky.

If nothing else and you are using windows XP (I think 2000 can do it too). Convert C to ntfs and then convert both c and d to dynamic disks. Then just resize C:. All of this can be done with in Windows without special software. But once you go to dynamic disks, you can't go back without a full format and you can't install Linux or anything like that.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

Well then, can't you just change the boot file in the bios? I'm tellin you, this is what I did with my old computer and it worked fine. Is that because it was Win98?
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 10:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Also, I think this is on one HDD, not two. So you can't really switch the IDEs to get this to work.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 01:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Actually you can do what he wants to. Fdisk both drives first (Win98 boot CD comes in handy here). Make sure you make D the master driver (or set the jumpers to CS=cable select) and switch the drives on the IDE cable. Then boot from the CD and follow the prompts. WinXP will prompt you to format the drives prior to its reinstallation.
You can do this because there are actually two drives in the system not one partitioned into two as someone else has suggested.

-Target
Target is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 02:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yes the reason why it worked is because you used win98. just like DOS( okay, exactly like DOS), it assigns drive letters based on the disk's location on the cable (IDE0,1,2,3,) and the partition type (primary, logical drive).

with winxp/2k this does not work the same way because they do not assign drive letters the same way DOS does. hope that made some sense.

Quote:
Originally posted by Total Immortal
I'm tellin you, this is what I did with my old computer and it worked fine. Is that because it was Win98?
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.