Cutting Costs... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2005, 11:00 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Sorry to bring this topic back up, but I still have a couple questions. You were talking about the Kingston RAM pc3700 512x2, for $79. The Corsair XMS pc3200 512x2 for $198 is what I was origianlly going to get. Why is the Corsair so much more expensive, and is the Kingston still a good choice. Would it still perform good, without breaking? So if any of you have experience with Kingston RAM, please comment. I was also told to get a PCIe slotted video card, thing is I can't find the 6600GT with a PCIe slot as well as a motherboard, that is compadible. If anyone knows were I can find one please help me out. Thanks in advance.
__________________

toogreen is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:06 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Kingston is different from Kingmax

I said Kingmax in my post, but Kingston is still pretty good, still more pricey than Kingmax, but not as pricey as Corsair

I've used Kingston, Kingmax and Corsair before, ant they are all good modules, the main difference being price

Corsair sell their RAM at high prices because they can; people think they are getting a lot better with corsair, so they pay more, when in reality there is not much difference

*edit* the Gigabyte K8NF-9 has PCI-E, you might want to look at that
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:14 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Ok, do you think im risking getting bad products with the Kingmax?
toogreen is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:23 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

no, they're pretty good quality
they're actually designed better IMO, they use less voltage than other RAM so they run cooler
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:25 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Cool, one more question. I am going to need speakers, and was wondering how bad the sound would be one some cheap $30 set opposed to a nicer $70 one? If you know anything about this, please let me know.
toogreen is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:31 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a lot of motherboards come with onboard sound, which is usually pretty good
otherwise I would suggest at least a Sound Blaster Live
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:42 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default

So your saying the sound would come out of the motherboard, and I do not need to purchase speaker. Or are you talking about a sound card?
toogreen is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 12:15 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

He is talking about a sound card. Get the $30 speakers for now. They wont be that good but I would wont better performance than sound for now then upgrade the speakers later. I didn't really look at your system on the previous page but if you are planning on buying a sound card, don't. On board sound (comes integrated into the motherboard) is a lot better than it use to be. Plus, why have a sound card with a pair of $30 speakers ? As for the WD Raptors, yes, they will increase load and save times. That's good but I would get the 80GB 7200 rpm drive for now and maybe upgrade some of the other components. Have the system balanced. Ex: Why drive a Porsche and live in a single wide ? (not meant to be offensive)
__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 01:00 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

oh I thought you said a sound card.... my bad
I think Logitech make pretty good speakers

I got myself a set of Shark Cannon V speakers (5.1), which were $70 aus, and they make really good sound
not sure where you can get them in the US
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 04:59 AM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Here is a setup - Total $1025 - couldnt really get it lower (Get a cheaper case) -Hope it helps Some stuff from Zipzoomfly Other from Newegg

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Processor Skt 939 & Asus A8V-Deluxe Via K8T800Pro Athlon 64(FX) Skt939 Motherboard Retail Bundle ***Free 2nd Day*** $331 Link

Raidmax Black Aluminum Game Case w/ 420 Watt PS - Retail $88.88

SAMSUNG 120GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model SP1213C, OEM Drive Only $79.00 [http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...152-017&depa=1]Link[/URL]

Mushkin Dual Pack 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail $137 Link

EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Video Card, 128MB GDDR3, 128-Bit, DVI/TV-Out, AGP 8X, Model "128-A8-N350" -RETAIL $219 - this one is AGP 8x the other one appeared to be a Pci Express one on Newegg's site Link

Lite-On 16X DVD-ROM, Model SOHD-167T Black, RETAIL $24.99 Link

Windows XP Home - $79
Floppy Drive - $7
Keyboard - $10
Used Dell 17' Monitor - $50
Logitech Digital Mouse - Already Have
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.