A custom "MEGA" video card!!??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2004, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default A custom "MEGA" video card!!???

I was just thinking about something.

While studying some video cards, I just got a weird idea in my head......

Would it be possible in any way, to maybe take pieces of off video cards and apply them to a card so that the card would be SUPER good ????

Like taking them off and somehow "applying" them to a video card that sucks, so that it would turn into an "ultimate" video card that could possibly be as good as an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, or somehow better!!??

Just imagine taking an old Radeon 9000 AGP card and putting pieces from the 9800 pro and Geforce FX 5950 Ultra on it, lol :P

It would probably most definetely be illegal to do, and would more than likely mess up the video card, but could there be any way to do this and get it to actually work?

I know this is probably how ATI and Nvidia make their cards, by just putting their pieces on a card until it is complete, but just imagine making your own cards! You could have your own home-operated "video card factory"

I know this sounds stupid, and probably crazy at the same time, but this is just something whacky that i thought up.
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

It's been done before, and apparently it doesn't work:

http://lightconsulting.com/~thalakan.../images/bf.jpg

(joking)

Long story short: You'd be faced with a major circuitry issue, as with issues with the different chip architectures (e.g. figuring out a unified memory type that would satisfy every chip), though it doesn't take a person with an EE degree to solve it.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Oh, ok, that is what I thought. =/

That picture is hella funny though! ROFL!!!!!!

DId you make that!!?? If not, where did you find that at? XD
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 01:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

whoa, tha's one bltchin fast video card. aye carumba! :amazed:
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 03:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to bad-dog
Default

Myabe it does work but it won't suite in any computer case
__________________
PC Specifications
OS:
Dual Boot
Windows XP Professional
Windows Server 2003
PSU:
Antec 550W
MoBo:
Abit IC7-MAX3
CPU:
P4 2.8 HT 800FSB Prescott OC to 3.1
RAM:
Samsung 512 x 2 PC3200 (Dual Channel)
VGA:
ASUS FX5600 Video Suite
HD:
WD 200G SATA
CD-RW + DVD:
LG Combo x16/52x32x52
Monitor:
LG 19\" Professional Series
bad-dog is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 04:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

It would work but you would have to know more about graphics cards and electronics than the hundreds of scientists/technicians at ATI/nVidia
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 01:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

i dont think itll work unless u find some way of taking the GPU out of both and sticking em on the 9000 pro and somehow running 3 GPU's at once

I think the thing that actually makes video cards fast are their GPU's, the rest of the card is memory transistors capacitators and other stuff i dont understand
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 50
Default

If it were possible to make them that much better, nvidia and ATI would have done it.
__________________

Crypty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.