Custom computer won't post - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2003, 07:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

The POST Beep will come from the speaker in the box not your actual speakers, if ya have it plugged in properly on the Mobo.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 07:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

That is what I thought.

I had a thought originally that it might have something to do with the 800 FSB. I don't know if the board automatically detects the FSB, or if it even matters for the post. I haven't been able to find any jumpers to change to set the FSB.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 07:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

By Default it detects the FSB but lowers it significantly for overclocking purposes, check the BIOs and see what it's set to.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 01:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

he said it doesn't even go to POST
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 09:00 AM   #15 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

He was asking where the POST Beep sound came from I Thought. Nothing about the PC not POSTing itself!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 10:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

If none of these suggestions work, you may want to remount your motherboard. It is possible that you have a short between your case and motherboard. This would indeed cause the power supply to run but the computer not to. Since your mobo doesnot have onboard video, i agree you should try another video card first. if none of these work, try another power supply. This should help narrow thing down alot.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 12:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can get little rubber rings to place between the screws and the mobo so that they don't come into contact with the mobo's circuits
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 05:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Well, I gave up on it. My father-in-law, who taught me pretty much everything I know about computers, including how to build them, came back into town, so he's taking a look at it. He said he's checked the obvious stuff (don't know what that would be) and didn't find anything wrong,and that he'll take a much closer look at it tonight, and let me know.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 08:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you should also consider the most obvious problem, your mobo is DOA defective, if so return it before your exchange period ends.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 11:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Well, it took a while, but my father-in-law found the problem.

There is a lesson here for everybody that is building a computer for the first time as well.

When I first put the CPU in, I didn't put the first pin where it was supposed to go. I didn't notice it, but I did notice I had problems getting the CPU fan on. I though I was just not getting the fan into its case correctly. I ended up busting two pins on the CPU.

This in turn fried my mobo, so I have had to replace both, which cost an extra $300.

I know, I'm an idiot, but that is one mistake I will never make again.

I would like to thank everybody for their help.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.