Custom computer won't post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2003, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default Custom computer won't post

My wife bought the parts to build a computer for my birthday.

She bought:

2.6 GHz P4 800 FSB
FIC P4-865PE Max Motherboard
ATI All-In-Wonder 8x AGP graphics card
256 MB DDR Ram
80 GB harddrive
4 format DVD writer

I installed everything, and the computer won't post or display anything on monitor. I uninstalled the harddrive and DVD writer, and computer still nothing. I have checked all connections, and all seem to be fine.

Motherboard does not have built in video, and monitor works fine on my other computer.

Could the problem be that the motherboard isn't recognizing the graphics card? Is there a jumper someplace that I've missed to change to 800 FSB for the CPU? Or is it something else that I'm missing?

Thanks
__________________

hilowe is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 02:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you have not done so yet connect your pc speaker(not the amplified speakers) into your motherboard and reset your BIOS. double check that you have the power switch & power LED connected into the motherboard correctly. you may have the power switch connected to the wrong pins.

tell us what is happening when you try to turn on the computer. examples: fans spinning for a second and stop, nothing (meaning no power), beeping (if so decribe the beeps, a long continuous beep, short beep followed by a long beep, ect).

and any other information that will help us
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 05:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

first thing, try using the video card in another pc
second... try using an older video card and sticking it in the new pc..
that should tell you right there if the video card is bad..
now if either of those options do not work.. maybe try sticking an older chip into the board? hrm..
Demalii is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 07:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so you don't see the POST?
maybe it is the BIOS that's the problem
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Sorry it has taken me so long to reply. I've had to help my father-in-law today, and still am helping him. I havn't had a chance to try any of your suggestion yet, but I will tell you what I remember.

All of the fans seem to work, cpu fan, case fan, and mobo fan. I can hear the had drive spin up, and the computer tries to read the DVD drive.

The mobo fan has three pairs of leds behind it that are flashing. My father-in-law said that it is flashing an error code of some sore, but I do not remember the order the lights were flahsing in. I will have to go home to check on that.

I will have to look for another video card to place in the new computer, because it has always been built into the mobo before. I don't even know if my old desktop can support the new video card.

Thanks for your help so far.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 02:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yeah that seems like a video card problem since everything runs but you get no video. like demalli says you should try another video card or plug your monitor back into the onboard video card. go into CMOS setup and disable the onboard video. shut down and plug the monitor back into the new video card.

if that desn't work and you need the onboard video working again you probably will need to reset your BIOS. your motherboard a manual will tell you where to short the pins with the jumpers to reset.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
yeah that seems like a video card problem since everything runs but you get no video. like demalli says you should try another video card or plug your monitor back into the onboard video card. go into CMOS setup and disable the onboard video. shut down and plug the monitor back into the new video card.

if that desn't work and you need the onboard video working again you probably will need to reset your BIOS. your motherboard a manual will tell you where to short the pins with the jumpers to reset.
and also take out the (not onboard) video card
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

I pulled the AGP graphics card out, and put in a PCI video card. There is no onboard video, so I didn't have to do anything for that. The computer still does the same thing. No video to monitor, and no system beep telling me the computer has posted.

The LED's being for looks only explains why I haven't been able to find any error codes pertaining to them.

Anybody have any more ideas?
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe it's the monitor?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

monitor works fine on my other computer. Besides, unless I got the speaker hooked up wrong, shouldn't I hear the system beep?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.