Custom Computer 2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2005, 09:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
maybee if they werent shat, I wouldnt have 2 shatty XFX cards
OK Chris, what's exactly shat about XFX? Some people have had problems with their XFX products so I've heard. So? You could get a dodgy CPU from Intel or AMD, if you're unlucky. It happens. From personal experience, I never had any problems with my XFX 6800 GT. Stable, overclocked like a charm on stock/shatty cooling, kept good temps all-round, superb performance (going by others with EVGA's et all).
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 09:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Uhh then you got lucky and you didnt have to RMA it 7805720 times.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 09:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Hmmm...*Grumble, grumble*...

Well I'm still a happy XFX customer.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 09:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Are you on dial-up, cause if you're not, you don't need to get that 56k modem. You only need it if you're on dial-up.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 09:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

He's on dial up
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 10:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to Sicarius
Default

I could also use a good site that tells me how to install all this, and good stuff like that.
Sicarius is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 10:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
He's on dial up
Well he wont be playing bf2, hl2 online.....
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 11:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Chris, don't feel bad, there are a lot of people still stuck in the stone-age (dial-up) like me, it sucks, but at college I should be getting wireless. Hopefully. And vaderpro, he could play online, just have super high ping, and what not. Granted I highly recommend not playing online games with dial-up.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 01:07 AM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I played FFXI online w/ dial up when i still used it. It was alright i guess but i wish i had DSL at least.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 12:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by toxicity_27
And vaderpro, he could play online, just have super high ping, and what not. Granted I highly recommend not playing online games with dial-up.

Exactly, dont even bother. Nice graphics card and dial-up= waste of graphics card. I personally can only play so much single player games, its all about the multiplayer factor for me.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.