CUstom BIOS Splash - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2009, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default CUstom BIOS Splash

So I finally got around to making a custom boot splash, and apparently they all have to be 640x480 resolution, and 8-bit color depth, Im wondering if theres any program out there which will do a conversion without losing a lot of the quality.

This is my custom BIOS splash so far, but as you can tell, the colors suck.

heres link to orig http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/6888/85072099.png
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (16.4 KB, 1267 views)
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 08:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: CUstom BIOS Splash

There isnt going to be anything that can save quality. Not when you try to add such items to your boot screen. Check out Wincustomize and their bootskins. they might be able to help you make it look more smooth. But your not going to get that great quality with 8 colors.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 10:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: CUstom BIOS Splash

wincustomize is the windows loading screen right? This is for the BIOS
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: CUstom BIOS Splash

Either way, I doubt the regular BIOS load screens use more than 8 colors, just like the loading screens.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 10:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: CUstom BIOS Splash

Like the others said, with only 8bit color, you're not gonna get good quality no matter what when you try to use images that have such "advanced" color schemes, shall we say.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 10:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: CUstom BIOS Splash

I think to create a custom BIOS Splash you need to see if you can edit the BIOS to include it. I have seen it done a couple of times before but it took a lot of work.

If you already know how and are jsut looking to tweak the image, again i would suggest checking out Wincustomize. Their bootskins have the same limitations and they have a program setup designed to create the images. So i dont see why it would be much different to create a bootskin, or save it as a image for your BIOS.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: CUstom BIOS Splash

ASUS mobos have a program built in that lets you customize the BIOS splash, i wouldn't know how to do it otherwise lol. Thx, gotta see how stretched this looks on 1920x1200
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 12:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: CUstom BIOS Splash

Quote:
Changing the BIOS Splash Screen

To eliminate the branded splash screen associated with your BIOS, you need to obtain the firmware update for your BIOS and edit the logo file that's part of the BIOS fileset before applying the update. Since every computer model and manufacturer uses a slightly different BIOS configuration, it's important to get the BIOS specific to your computer from the support section of the manufacturer's Website. In some cases, like my HP laptop, it's become virtually impossible to replace the logo because the BIOS flash process is contained in an .exe file that runs locally in Windows rather than from a separate disk.

Assuming your PC manufacturer has you create a floppy designed to flash the PC bios, you can fairly easily make a change to the logo displayed. In following the directions to create the BIOS boot disk, simply replace the included logo.bmp file in the BIOS update package with a logo.bmp file created by you. The key here is to use a 16 color (NOT 16-bit color) 640x480 BMP file. Copy your logo.bmp file onto the disk used for your BIOS update and run the bundled logo.bat file by double-clicking it. This converts the logo.bmp to a format ready for the BIOS update.

It's vital to keep all the files in the BIOS update named exactly as they were or your computer may not work after the update. Any changes made to BIOS update files should be done at your own risk and with extreme care.
Source

You should be able to use the Bootskin images if you find one you like.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 03:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: CUstom BIOS Splash

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Either way, I doubt the regular BIOS load screens use more than 8 colors, just like the loading screens.
Pretty much. I use the Gigabyte Untility to put in our company logo, and I can not say I am 100% happy with the results.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
BIOs wont let me Overclock, no options.. TekBubs Overclocking and Modding 14 02-06-2009 10:58 PM
Custom boot splash screens. Kharn Linux and Open Source 2 10-21-2008 07:34 AM
Toshiba 'BIOS password glitch' Cunjo Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-17-2008 02:14 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.