The curse of the 2 Ram Chips . . . . - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2004, 02:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I think Shmoo did this though.....the test came up bad....oh wait, well he's only showing the test for DIMM2.....pardon me then
Well, on second thought, knowing Shmoo, I'm sure he's already tried this. And if not, then he's reading this and frantically running to his computer right now to do this in order to say that he's done it. LOL
Sucks man....I know that you were really excited to get this board too!
About shooting some fools.... anytime after 6pm my time! Name the day....or just give me a ring. I'll probably give you a call after work today.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 02:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Ya, did that last night just to be sure . . . got errors. It's gotta be the slot, I'll have a new board tomorrow. Thanks 4 the help.

Shmoo
__________________

Shmootill is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 05:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Hey Mike,

hehe, I had to read the post a couple of time to make sure I was not saying something that did not make sense. Glad to know you fingured it out Shmootill. Have a good one.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default

You're not goanna believe this . . . .

Got my RMA'd motherboard, threw it in the comp . . .

SAME PROBLEMS . . .. am able to repeat above test verbatin with the same results. . .

I'm assuming it must be my RAM then . . . have anyof you EVER heard anything like this? Is value RAM that menacing!!???

Question: I'm new to dual channel, and I haven't tried it with this mobo because I don't think my RAM is dual channel, but am I right in understanding that RAM actually has to be designed for dual - channel? Or is any DDR supposed to work dual channel? i.e. should I try plugging them in the dual-channel configuration?

"Kingston Value RAM - KVR400x64c3ak2/1G" = current RAM

-Shmoo

*Stumbles away from gutted monstrosity of a computer, falters, then passes out on the cold, cold floor*

P.S.
Memory Wizard,
Got a line of some well-priced high-quality Dual Channel RAM?
Shmootill is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 10:54 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Shmootill,

There is no "dual channel" memory, it is a function of the motherboard. If the 2 modules have the same specs, ie: same megabytes, CL speed, MHz, and same chip count then they can be used in dual channel. All you need to do to have the board run in dual channel is install the modules in slots 1 and 3. If the modules are not the same size cosmetically should not matter. Some people are using Corsair, Crucial and Mushkin, depends on if you plan on overclocking. I would stick with Crucial for obvious reasons. I have been using Crucial in my boxes for years and have had no problems. If you plan on overclocking then go with Corsair or Mushkin. We have found any memory taged as
value-ram is hit or miss on performance. Like putting low grade gas in a high performance motor, laggy. We will try to be open minded when offering our opinion about what types of memory to get. The Kingston standard is good memory, I just do not like any value ram lines.

Just my opinion, I hope it helps.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 03:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Thx for the reply, ya, I just found out that my RAM is incompatible . . . . I'll get that new RAM, no cheap stuff this time, I'm getting a full refund. Thanks for everyone's help.

Shmoo
Shmootill is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 04:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Btw: If there's no such thing as "Dual Channel" specific memory sticks, then why do some chips advertise as Dual Channel?

Shmoo
Shmootill is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 04:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

That's a cheap advertising gimmick some brands follow ..... Crucial's rite ...there's no such thing as "dual channel ram" .... It's ur mobo which makes the ram work in dual channel mode ...

I read ur thread a bit late ... anywayz .. I own the same mobo ..n' i have tried the kingston value ram on it earlier ... i did face issues like random restarts, BSOD etc..
N' this was not limited to Gigabyte mobo's only ..i found it to behave erratically on Asus mobo's too ... N' yes both mobo's were nforce based mobo's...

They seem to work fine with intel chipset based mobo's ...so i concluded that there must've been an issue with nforce based mobo's n' kingston value ram.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 05:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Hey, preet2u,

I would have a tough time working on my computer with screenshots like that on it. LOL
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 09:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

... What can i say ... It IS quite distracting .... at times
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.