CSS framerates - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 07:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default CSS framerates

my css framerates seem a little low...

if i max everything, i get 50fps average. i mean, that is not bad, but considering i can max fear at an average of 50 ish, then that seems a little low...
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Your 3d mark scores seem a little low for a 7900 GT. You running the latest video drivers, motherboard drivers, sound drivers, etc?

(you may not think motherboard drivers are important to game performance, but they truely are).

I myself have one (which is UNDERCLOCKED) and I score 8k in 3D Mark05, and around 6k in 06.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

thats probably because you have a 3700 and 2GBs RAM...

yea, all drivers are up to date.
joshd is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

In console

fps_max 0
cl_cmdbackup 2
cl_lagcomp_errorcheck 1
cl_lagcompensation 1
cl_smooth 1
cl_smoothtime 0.01
cl_interpolate 0
cl_interp 0.01
cl_cmdrate 101
cl_updaterate 101
rate 25000

make sure they work first, then save them in your config file so you don't have to manually put them in each time
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

and these wont degrade visual quality?

the framerate went right up to 70-100 odd by just doing the "fps_max 0" command.

i think this is a much more satisfactory framerate for my system.

thanks gaara.
joshd is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 01:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You also want to make sure vsync is disabled if you haven't checked already
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea but vsync would lock it at 60 ish, rather than 50 ish?

i dont know. it is strange.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.