Cruddy Performance? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2004, 12:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Drivers aren't the issue... programs in the background aren't the issue. The computer is set up the best way I know how and still the performance is crap. I just do not understand.

I'm starting to believe that it's the ATI card. I mean, my friend has an Nvidia card and basically the same computer and he can play Silent Storm with ease whereas I get pretty insanely slow video response.

Nvidia seems to be more mainstream optimized for games.

As long as my rig will play Half-Life 2, I'll be happy.
__________________

netwalker is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 12:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 159
Default

i think ur ATI card is not the problem, it beats any of nvidia geforce series (up until fx5950). have u install ur motherboard chipset drivers? u did a win xp clean install, didn't u?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon-C Thunderbird @ 1.2 GHz (FSB 133/266MHz)
MSI K7T Turbo Limited Edition (VIA KT133A Chipset)
Visipro 256 MB PC133 SDRAM
PixelView GeForce 2 MX400 Ultra 64MB SDRAM (Samsung 4.5 ns)
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Soundcard
Maxtor 40 GB ATA133 7200 RPM
Logitech Z-560 THX Certified Speakers
MSI D16 16X DVD-ROM
MSI CR52 52X32X52X CD-R/CD-RW
Samsung 753DF 17\" Flat CRT Monitor
Windows XP Pro SP1
WeHa is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 12:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I built the computer... hard drives were new, so yes, clean install.

There has got to be a setting that's wrong somewhere... I mean, this is gay.

Can't wait to get my ABIT just to see if the MB was the problem.
netwalker is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 02:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

are u 110% shur u installed the 4in1 drivers correctly? 100% isnt enough, i sware! i was 100% shur, and i was wrng hehe
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 05:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

your components are all good unless something is damaged its not them. somewhere along the lines you must have the wrong drivers or a bad setting or something. just go through every detail possible and try to pinpoint where your problem is. also have you updated your catalyst drivers.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 06:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I know my Catalysts are ok. The only possibility would be the motherboard drivers. I will look into this. I appreciate the info guys.
__________________

netwalker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.