Creating a Gaming PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 05:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

GT versions of the cards are a minumum. The normal cards are usually 3/4 to 1/2 the speed of a GT
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

They are usually more than half the speed, but you are right Chris, the performance difference can be quite significant. If you can afford the extra $80-$100 then get the GT, it will handle the latest games better.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 14
Default

OK guys, I have another question that was brought up in a forum I posted somewhere else..Is firewire worth it, this motherboard does NOT support it. Can I attach a firewire thru a PCI-e?
MattTim2004 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

lol, ATI noobs
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Get a AMD 3000+ with a dfi board instead of the p4 530j with that board., you will save money which you can use to get a 6800 gt
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 14
Default

and lose .9 Ghz? I din't think it's worth it, do you?
MattTim2004 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

It doesnt matter about the GHz, an amd 3000+ is equivalent to a 3.0ghz processor. a 3200 would be faster than a p4 3.0GHz.
If your doing gaming, AMD would be the best, otherwise intel.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Well, when I was researching CPU's, it said an AMD 3000 is equiv to 2.1 Ghz, and an Intel 3.0 ghz is well..3.0 ghz. Ghz has no factor in the speed of the processor, you sure about that?
MattTim2004 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MattTim2004
Well, when I was researching CPU's, it said an AMD 3000 is equiv to 2.1 Ghz, and an Intel 3.0 ghz is well..3.0 ghz. Ghz has no factor in the speed of the processor, you sure about that?
Well I'm a noob but from what I understand an AMD 3200+ is the equivilant of a 3.2 ghz Intel. (don't flame me if I'm wrong)
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

It is, ur right about that. However, the 3200+ will smoke pretty much every Intel CPU when it comes to gaming
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.