Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2009, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

I acquired a light up sign from a display the other day. The only wire coming out the back is a 2 pin female cable. Ill post a pic it sorta looks like a motherboard cable. I would like to be able to splice this some how with a usb cable and hook it up to my PS3 so when i turn on the ps3 it will light up. Any suggestions or ideas are greatly appreciated.





__________________

bigjohnson8778 is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

hmm, this sounds fun! Do you know what voltage the sign uses?

Aside from that tho, I would just go to radioshack and get a usb male type A component jack, and chop the one from your sign off. Put the red to pin1 and the black to pin4, and it should light up.

USB PINOUTS
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

I do not know the voltage. But worst case scenario i would fry the sign rather than a usb port on my ps3? I just wanna do it right and not mess up my ps3
bigjohnson8778 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

From the back, can you see the LED's, circuit board or any resistors? If not, can you open it up? It most likely has a 12v input with a single 330-470 ohm resistor for each LED. The resistor's and led's may or may not be mounted to a circuit board. I would try the 12v and see if it works, if not it's easy to fix with a soldering iron. You can buy new led's and resistors here if you mess something up. They also have a forum, look for Lokie or Twizted, tell them Slaymate sent ya

DragonModz Shop
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

something that I was actually thinking of, but did a little looking into, and dont know how well it would work, or if it can be done.

But from working on cars, I have a little knowledge of relays. I wonder if its possible to make a USB relay? in otherwords, when you turn the ps3 on, it supplies power to the usb ports, have that power (5v) activate a switch that will allow power from a voltage source light the sign up (be it 5v, 6v, 12v, 120v, lol)

but I dont know if they make a dpst relay that keeps each side isolated (so we dont have one common ground, and 12v flowing to the ground of the ps3)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

Unfortunantly though, doesnt the PS3 supply power to the USB ports even when its off? I know my WDTV media player does as i charge things off it when its not on.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

run the wires straight to the power switch led light circuit.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 11:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

i plugged my iphone into the usb and it did not charge it while it was off, so it staying on while the ps3 is off shouldnt be a problem. Ill open the back up tom and post pics, got business law test i need to study for tom thanks for all the help so far
bigjohnson8778 is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 01:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

ive had a bunch of tests this week and been busy but heres the inside







bigjohnson8778 is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 03:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Creating a cable for a sign. Need advice.

looks like a led bar to me (no suprises here)

are there any markings on the PCB anywhere near where the wires connect? you would be looking for like 5v or 5+ or 5 or any number really that could corrolate to any voltage. (and help us determine which side of the array is positive, dont want to run 12v the wrong way on a led, it goes POP lol)
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Pc, cable management /cpu temp / fan cooling advice encity5 Overclocking and Modding 12 01-22-2009 06:34 AM
Pops not going despite Avast/AVG; Kaspersky scanning Thaqalain HijackThis Logs (finished) 7 12-15-2008 10:41 PM
A patch cable with 2 switched wires is the only way a connection can be made... ?? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-12-2008 05:28 PM
Advice re buying HDMI cable montyburns737 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-29-2007 03:23 PM
SCSI to USB adapter cable advice needed..... jarosteve Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-24-2007 05:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.