Crazy Enough to Work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2005, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default Crazy Enough to Work?

I will be upgrading my current computer very soon (see sig) and I was planning on this upgrade.

CPU- AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice (S939)
Motherboard- Abit AV8
RAM- 512 MB Corsair XMS (for a total of 1GB)

Total Cost: $368.90

However, I'm now leaning towards the following option, and I was curious as to y'alls opinions.

CPU- AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Newcastle (S754, 2.4 GHz)
Motherboard- DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250Gb
RAM- 512 MB Corsair XMS (for a total of 1GB)

Total Cost: $393.94

Difference in cost: $25.04

Before I started getting flamed and called a n00b for considering a S754 CPU, allow me to explain. The difference in cost is just $25.04, which isn't very much. Also, the motherboard in option 2 is far superior to the motheboard in option 1, and is nearly the same price. Most importantly, in the benchmarks I've seen, the 3400+ Newcastle comes out on top, often by quite a bit, say 10-15 frames per second more. Granted, I haven't seen any benchmarks with the 3200+ Venice, I'm using the 3200+ Winchester for comparison and assuming they will perform very similarly. Furthermore, the dual channel option of RAM offered by S939 motherboards only increases performance by 3-5% at a maximum, so that is a negligible difference. Many of you are probably thinking "But the S754 isn't upgradable...you're nuts!". The way I see it, this CPU is plenty fast to last quite a long time, and in my opinion will last longer than the video card. Therefore, I would have to upgrade the video card first, at which time PCI-E will be more widespread, which will then cause me to get a new motherboard, CPU, etc. So basically this boils down to the fact that I think this setup will last a very long time. Note of course, that I WILL NOT be overclocking this at all. I realize the Venice runs cooler and is far and away better in terms of overclocking abilities, but I have no interest in that and am looking for the most cost effective CPU at stock speeds.

What do you guys think?
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I read this quick.

People here are going to say go for the venice 939. the socket 754's are discontinued or going to be.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Anyone else?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

939 overclocks soo good. 754 is crap

Abit's are great anyways
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

your cpu is good enough right now

just get another stick of 512XMS and wait/save for the new dfi board?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Get a socket 939 3700+ San Diego. Better than venice AND newcastle.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Get a socket 939 3700+ San Diego. Better than venice AND newcastle.
If I had that much money, I definitely would. The problem is the following.

AMD 64 3400+ Newcastle = $221.99
AMD 64 3700+ San Diego = $338.99
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Go SKT 939.

I am not sure was is going on with SKT 754. I don't think AMD is sure what they are doing with SKT 754 either.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
939 overclocks soo good. 754 is crap

Abit's are great anyways
Please give us a link that backs up your statement that socket 754 systems are "crap." Socket 754, while not upgradable as Socket 939, is nowhere near crap. Benchmarks show little difference in performance between the two sockets, even with dual-channel enabled.

Also, by the time he needs a new CPU, he will also need a new motherboard as well. The same would be true if he was getting Socket 939. Do you think people will actually be using Abit AV8s for Athlon 64 6000+ or whatever is in the future of socket 939? I don't think so, there will be bigger, badder mobos out then to better accompany the processors of that day. So if he can save a few bucks by getting socket 754, whats the crime in that?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 03:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I hope they keep socket 754 around for some time... I just got this pc not to long ago, and i got a decent overclock on the cpu.....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.