Crashing During WoW - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2005, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Default Crashing During Gaming

Hey guys, i have been experiencing many crahses when I play World of Warcraft although i do not recieve them while i play HL2. I have a 9800 pro 256 mb, and Wow shold not pose a problem on default settings I would think. Usually when I crash it freezes then goes back to desktop and Says sumthing about Vpu Recover or sumtimes the Screen begins to pixelate and many colred bloches appear on the screen and i am forced to reboot the comp manually. After I start playing again, the screen turns black and I am forced to restart my comp. Is my card going? or is somthing else wrong? BTW I Downloaded the new drivers of my Card and Mother Board


Thanks a lot
__________________

Laxboy15 is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

How strong is your PSU? I had the same problem with halo when I was running a 250watt psu, since i got the 550 no problems at all!
__________________

AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

You may want to ask at there forums since they have an entire Forum dedicated to WoW. And no im not talking about the Battle.net forums....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Default

Yeah..... but these are tech formus I thought its more a comp question then a game question. Any mroe replies would be usefull
Laxboy15 is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 11:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

psu probably is my best guess maybe. or the graphics card *highly doubt* but i'm a noob.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

does WoW require internet access? that would explain the extra strain on the psu. however, it should only be an extra 25-50 watts. If it's not the psu i'd point fingers at the software. haven't got a clue what it'd be though.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

this post dont belong here..........
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea it does! it's hardware....the PSU is hardware, is it not?
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 03:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Default

It might be the psu but i do have like a 450-500 watt psu, any other suggestions?
Hmmm, why wouldnt the post belong here? its about the computer crashing during gaming and a computer does have to do with this forum does it not?
BTW it seems to happen it more graphicly intense places. The settings are pretty low like i said, and 9800 pro 256 should handle it right?
Laxboy15 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 03:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

hes saying wow crashes! and its not because of psu its beacsue of ur motherboard its a POS whjen its a POS it crashes becuz that newb mobo cant handle the game done deal psu has nothing 2 do with it if the game crashes if ur mobo restarted then psu might be the issue
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.