Crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2005, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default Crashing

Hi.

I am having a problem with a constant crashing PC.

If i play say 'Call Of Duty' just as i finish one level and the next level loads up the system just crashes and restarts. I can play all day on the same level, but soon as i load up to another level the system just crashes.

Once the system has restarted, the error report says it was a 'Driver error' or 'Graphics driver error'

I have tried different graphics cards and all the latest drivers, i am pretty sure the ram is fine, i have formatted and reinstalled XP Pro.

I am beginning to wonder if it could be the motherboard, how can i check this out ?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Copper
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

try older drivers from guru3d.com
if that won't work, i think it is because you have SP2
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

try using this driver

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_71.84.html
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

i used to have that Driver problem after my computer restarted. if SP2 is the culprit, wuts the problem with Sp2???
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 08:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
try using this driver

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_71.84.html
Yes, but he has an ATi card.

The 9200SE is a horrid card, I don't think it'd handle call of duty very well. You could try unlocking a few possible hidden pipelines and turning it into a real 9200, depending on whether they were disabled or simply botched.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 10:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

What is your chip on your motherboard. VIA has been known not to be the best with ATI. You have a good system, maybe you could get a nvidia 6600, if you can buy that.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.