Crappy MB and slow FSB slowing down computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2002, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to koomba
Question Crappy MB and slow FSB slowing down computer?

Hey im new to the forums, so I hope I can get some help. Anyways I just got a new computer, well my parents bought it, so I had nil say in what we got....but anyways its an XP 2000+ with 512 MB DDR and I just installed a geforce3...but the problem is I was looking at the MB manual that came with it, and I noticed that the FSB is only 100/133....and the newer XP chips support up to like 200 or 266, correct? So I was just wondering if the slower FSB, which is the same bus speed that was in my old celeron 300, is slowing down the computer? I would be using it mainly for gaming, obviously, so thats why i ask. Oh and btw i scored around 7000 on 3DMark2001...should it be higher? If anyone knows if it is the MB thatd be great, and point me to any good reccommedations for a good one. Thanks


koomba is offline  
Old 08-09-2002, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx

If you're running an AthlonXP 2000+, your FSB is set at 133mhz.. but the bus on Athlons is DDR (double data rate) which means it sends information on both the rising and falling edge of the clock cycle, effectively doubling the clock speed to 266.

As for your 3dmark score, 7000 probably isn't bad for a Geforce3. With my 1600+ (@1540mhz) I get about 9000, but I've got a Geforce4 Ti4200...

Hope that helps!

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-09-2002, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

FSB on DDR+AMD K7, T-bird, Palomino (XP/MP) / T-bred platform = 133 MHz * 2

The problem is just not recognizing the architecture of DDR.

7000 is average, considering a Ti 200 averages around 6500 and a Ti 500 around 7800. I've gotten over 8800 before when flashing my GeForce3's BIOS to a Ti 500.
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 08-10-2002, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to koomba

Ooooh lol....well i guess i was just confused then. As you can see, im a bit of a noob, but thanks for the help guys! I was just making sure i wasnt getting screwed over. Thanks for the help!!

koomba is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.