crackling sounds from cpu - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 03:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I would bet my money it's the hard drive too

And my CPU didnt thermally shut down for some reason, the fan came undone and it didnt shut off
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 03:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS


And my CPU didnt thermally shut down for some reason, the fan came undone and it didnt shut off
That totally sucks. Did your cpu fry? What kind was it?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 04:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Could be the thermal paste crackling

When I overheated my CPU past 100 celcius, it seemed to be burning and crackling the paste
No visual emote can convey how hard I laughed at this post.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 04:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

But, yeah. I'm with "Him" on this one. If it's not the psu, then the HD is the only component with parts to make this sound during accessing.
Oh wait, did you leave a popcorn maker with kernels in there? That could be it.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Could have been my brain crackling as well, as soon as I saw that temp i went into SDFPGDFG"KJLG>FDGN:LKFGHDFPG mode

It didnt fry luckily, but I burnt myself touching the heatsink because I couldnt belive the temp
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

What kind of hard drive do you have? If it's a Western Digital, they make alot of noise, but it's a high peformance HD.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

you know what it is the hard drive and yes it is a WD 160gb.
But I have a 80gb seagate that also spins at 7200 and none of that noise.Whats up with this brand?Something else my mom had an hp before this one similar sound it was also was a WD.I want to replace the drive any ways it is too small I back up my dvds on it.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I dont know what it is. That is a problem with WD drives I guess. Sucks too, cuz other than that, they are very good drives.
Him is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 09:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

my hard drive is very noisy too, i cant wait to get a new one, its starting to get really annoying but it works really good >_>'
contry is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 09:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Western Digital?
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.