cpuz says I have newcastle, with a winchester core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2005, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default cpuz says I have newcastle, with a winchester core



Do I need to flash the bios? Is that what is causing it?

Thanks Trif.

btw, that is a overclocked to 2ghz, from 1836.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 09:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

it looks like you indeed do have the newcastle rather than the winchester core... The "technology" field shows the core of your processor, The newcastle is 0.13u where as the winchester shows up as 0.09u ... are you sure you got a winchester? Did the supplier perhaps give you the wrong chip? I have a winchester and it shows up as 0.09u, i didnt have to flash the bios for that.

EDIT:
I have noticed though that you are using an older version of cpu-z than me... maybe that version doesnt recognise the winchester... download a more up to date version and try that!

here is what I see on mine!

__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I downloaded the one you have, and it says winchester. Thanks for the help.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

no probs
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Next time push ALT-Prt Scr, it will copy only the window selected. Or send it to Paint and crop it real quick cause thats a big screenshot.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I was in a bit of a rush, as I had to go. but ill do the alt print screen in future.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 02:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

The newest version is CPU-Z 1.27 btw...

http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-127.zip
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 02:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

yeah i upgraded myself after i posted earlier... 1.27 now with coloured text... ooooh
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Hey Hygor not sure if theres an answer to this but whats the deal with everyone else spelling color- colour? and many diff instances of that? I saw it when I was a kid and would get totally confused every time. Is it another instance of American Moronic refusal to do things logically, ie- metric system, etc.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 06:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

uhh, I don't think that not using the metric system comes down to 'moronic refusal to logic'


col·our ( P ) Pronunciation Key (klr)
n. & v. Chiefly British
Variant of color.

Just like "Shoppe" is still used in some places opposed to shop. Simple differences in culture not idiocy in one over the other, yeesh
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.