CPU Usage 100% Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2004, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default CPU Usage 100% Problem

I have a Dell P4 2.6 GHz with 640MB Ram and the computer is about 2 years old.

Lately I have been downloading big video files from the internet alot and moving big files from one folder to the other.

While the computer is performing these tasks, I noticed the computer is very slow, I can't even do anything else (such as open another IE browser to do stuff on the internet or play Counter-Strike online).

I open up Windows Task Manager and noticed the CPU Usage is always over 95%. I had to leave my Air Conditional ON all the time in order to keep the room temp down around 68F, otherwise, my computer would lag more.

I mean I have a P4 2.6GHz computer, I would expect it could do more and perform better than what I have seen it performed.

To my knowledge, high CPU usage means CPU couldn't process all the tasks fast enough, therefore, it creates major lag.

Does anyone know any tricks to resolve this problem without telling me to buy a P4 3.0GHz Dell? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Discusman is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

dude its a dell what did u expect? no kidding my 2.26 does the same thing. hyper threading would make that faster
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mrzeeedler
dude its a dell what did u expect? no kidding my 2.26 does the same thing. hyper threading would make that faster
Dude,

I thought Dell is a fast and reliable computer. Download and copy files from one location to another shouldn't lag the computer that badly.

So the 3.0 Ghz is a hyper threading CPU?
__________________
Discusman is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

well it depends i believe you have to buy it with ht. you can buy it with it or without. correct me some one if i'm wrong.
__________________
compy is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,882
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Most likely you're stocked up with tons of adware, download ad-aware, update and run it.. almost give spybot a run and then restart and watch how much faster it'll run =)
__________________
Demalii is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N
Default

Download Spybot Search and Destroy and run it a few times. It should clear up your systems sypware/adware. http://www.safer-networking.org/en/mirrors/index.html
__________________
Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
dvd/cdrw
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Still your comps gonna lagg that much when ur trying to copy huge files like that. My computer is hella optimized and it does. ANd a 2.6 isnt far from the 2.26 and im running 768mb of rambus memory which is probably about 10x faster then whats in ur dell.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

ok, first of all, no need to buy a new computer, that one should do you for quite sometime.

The Ram seems sufficient, so that shouldn't be the problem.

But Demalii may be right, some of this problem could be due to all that crappy adware out there, just download adaware off of download.com, and give it a whilr, its not the best out there, but its free, and easy to use for now, and may i suggest if you do not have one now, an good firewall, i used norton firewall 2002, and it works great, never had ANY adware, but if that is too expensive fgor you, try the free ones kicking around, AVG is the best, or blackice maybe.

well, just in case you owuld like to know, i am a nut when it comes to making sure my computer runs at peak performance, so here is what i would do if i were to be in your position:

1: Setup a firewall/virus scanner
2: scan for virus's
3: scan and clean adware/spyware
4: defrag your hard drive
5: if you have two hard drives, set your page file to be on the second hard drive, the one not used to house the system files. and make it a bit bigger, this dramaticcly increases load times and performance on the computer.

hope that helps, if you need more info, msg me!!
__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

I notice you said that
5: if you have two hard drives, set your page file to be on the second hard drive, the one not used to house the system files. and make it a bit bigger, this dramaticcly increases load times and performance on the computer
chesman if your paging file is on the 5400 rpm its probably slower but if its on the 7200 it will be considerably faster.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 09:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to sethduncan Send a message via Yahoo to sethduncan
Default

Also see how fast the hard drive is. If it's dell, they may have been gay and put in a 5400rpm, or it may be starting to go on you. However, if it's a 2.6 and it's two years old, that was a pretty rocking machine in 2002, so it may have a 7200rpm drive. I dunno, check those out. Also go download some sort of S.M.A.R.T. utility to check the hard drive for errors. For example, SpeedFan is mostly for temps, but it has S.M.A.R.T. reading capability, and it'll tell you if anything is jacked up with your hard drive.
__________________

__________________
sethduncan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.