CPU Upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2004, 04:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to mokelizer Send a message via Yahoo to mokelizer
Default

id agree, intel extreme sucks, MAIN reason, it uses the CPU to utilize graphics since their built in conjunction, its also like sound cards on MoBos because it uses the processor as a backup for processing instead of being seperate, i can almost guarantee your going to notice a big difference, i HATE integrated graphic cards
__________________

mokelizer is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

ya a BIG difference is correct, i noticed a HUGE difference from my A7N8X-VM Nforce2 mobo with onboard GeForce4 MX 440 which is way better than intel extreme, and when i upgraded to RADEON 9200, big big difference
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I can run counterstrike on my P3 500 system and a TNT2 card, I have to play on 640x480 or it'll lag a lot.
my TNT2 is not very good performance wise but is very reliable.

I totally agree on geting a better video card though, if you got the PC for free then it is not that much of a burden getting a new MB and video card.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the P4P800 is a descent board but you don't have to get the most expensive version.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 07:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the info guys...but if i install a new Motherboard....will i need to re-register XP, and Hp has the OS system on the Recovery CD's...will i run into any problems there?
__________________

Wil Garrett is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.