CPU Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2005, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default CPU Upgrade

plz help me..im looking to upgrade a little...i have a 244mhz cyrix prossesor and i want something above 300mhz...i ahve $60 and i was wondering if anyone had anything to help me....plz plz plz get back to me....email me at johnny@viskus.com
__________________

244MHZ is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

with your motherboard, $60 isn't going to get you anywhere, not even $500 for upgrading on your 244mhz comp will help (you can't really feel a difference between 244 and 350)

you're going to need a new comp.
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

waht are ur computer specs?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

well im not lookin to do anything big...just most of the things require a 300 mhz min so i just want less laggin on my old games
244MHZ is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

500$ could get him a complete system. Hell, 250$ could get him a decent xp chip, mb, ram, hd, cd-rw, and a decent video card.

For 60$ you're better off looking in the buy/sell section of the forum. Find someone with a duron 1.1-1.3 mb/proc/ram for sale. You're better off saving up 100$ and buying a cpu/mb combo from www.pricewatch.com. Duron 1.6 or something.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

if you have them, post the details of your motherboard. Vendor, model; That kind of stuff...
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by senseless
500$ could get him a complete system. Hell, 250$ could get him a decent xp chip, mb, ram, hd, cd-rw, and a decent video card.

For 60$ you're better off looking in the buy/sell section of the forum. Find someone with a duron 1.1-1.3 mb/proc/ram for sale. You're better off saving up 100$ and buying a cpu/mb combo from www.pricewatch.com. Duron 1.6 or something.
Thats true, you could get a decent system for that price. Also, a 350mhz processor isnt good enough for much more than pong and microsoft word.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

well its acctually a 1998 packardbell pc...it has a sis mother board with a 224mhz cyrix 6x86MX Cpu...160mb or ram and a 3.01 gb harddrive....the only cards i have are my basic sound card and my 54 mbps wireless card...im running window xp. umm....i donno what else...some basic ****ty stuff....and money is limited im 17 and in school and cant seem to find work...if i had the money id be doing what I love 3d animation after i build a pc that can take it...if u can help me at all that would help thx again....
244MHZ is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...332&pfp=BROWSE

$200

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...570&pfp=BROWSE

$300

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=43763

$85 + shipping
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 07:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Exclamation

__________________

244MHZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.