cpu upgrade 2.8 or 3.2 athlon xp - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2004, 02:04 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

lol, here is another for ya! it was funny, me and kol did this for like an hour and i made it from virgin techie to super techie LMAO.
__________________

compy is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:06 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

haha.. imma TRUE TECHIE.. but damn... how many posts do u have to have for super techie?
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:07 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

i think it's like 150 anyways, back to the thread, if the guy posts by tonight,
compy is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:14 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

yea.. we need our own thread, lol.. what was the thread about again... Ohh yea, upgradin CPU..
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:26 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

lol, has anyone ever told u guys u talk to much? lol
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 09:01 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Thanks compy

OK PsychoticBoy it would depend on what your motherboard supports, does it support DDR400 or just DDR333?

If it supports DDR333 then go for the XP2800+ with FSB 333MHz

If it supports DDR400 then go for the XP3200+ with FSB 400MHz

Simple!

Take a note of what memory you have at the moment using CPU-Z, if you currently only have DDR333 installed then get yourself a XP2800+.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 03:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by compy
lol, here is another for ya! it was funny, me and kol did this for like an hour and i made it from virgin techie to super techie LMAO.
yep i remember that . . .

i got from 47 posts to 200 in 24 hours!
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 05:36 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

just get it within your budget.
case closed.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:04 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

AMD Athlon XP 2800+ for $79 with 1 year warranty

you won't see much difference between this and the 3200+

the Athlon's are rated by their performance and not their clock speeds; the 2500+ is 1.67GHZ but performs as well as a 2.5GHZ Pentium 4
the reason being is that the Athlon's can complete more instructions per clock cycle than the P4 can, in the case of the 2500+ and 2.5GHZ, the Athlon XP would perform 150% as well as the Pentium 4 if they were to run at the same clock speeds
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.