CPU is underclocked - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2004, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default CPU is underclocked

the story:
i built myself a computer this past year and went to tigerdirect.com and bought a 2.4 gigahertz CPU and the darn thing only runs at 1.8. I tried changing the bios and the system hangs when you try to continue with start up. Ive tried playing with the jumpers and switches on the motherboard and that didnt work, though im no expert at that. The happy people at best buy said it might be the front-side bus or somthing but i know very little about what the guy was talking about. the motherboard is designed for a P4 and i think the front-side bus is 533 if that makes any sense. if you have any ideas why im cheating my system out of 600 megahertz i'd be very grateful.
__________________

mercury_runner is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 09:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Default

read the mobo man... don't play with jumpers unless u no what ur doing. lol

it will tell you how to clock
Al
__________________

__________________
AMD>INTEL
ATI>NVIDIA

C++
JAVA
JAVASCRIPT
PERL
REEF
LISP
PYTHON

good at Java, mastered Java Script, learning C++ some more, and have not done alot with the others.
winblowz is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 01:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 183
Default

whats your mobo like? maybe your mobo wont support anything higher than 1.8gig
__________________
intel pentium 4 2.8C with HT 800mhz fsb 512k cache s.478 northwood core
1 gig pc3200 DDR400 dual channel
gigabyte P4 titan GT PRO 865G chipset; GA-8IG1000pro
7200rpm 8mb buffer 40gigWD ATA100
52x DVD rom
40x CD burner
WIN XP pro
wireless logitec mouse
soundblaster
DUAL monitor setup: 17 in proview crt, and 15 in IBM crt
priamry mon-gainword geforce FX 5600 ultra 256mb core-378 mem-560
2nd monitor: ATI 128 rage pro 16mb
neon light side fan, exaust fan,thermal cpu fan, and 2 more
430 watt pwer pack
-=B$=- is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 01:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Be sure your motherboard supports 533 MHz FSB processors.

You can manually set the front side bus and multiplier in the BIOS setup (18*133 = 2400), and it looks like you're running only at 100 (400 MHz FSB) at the moment.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.