cpu trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2005, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default cpu trouble

i just needed some suggestions on how to maybe fix this...my computer will shut off 5 seconds after i hit the power button if i change the cpu setting in the bios..i have an amd 2700 and i set the fsb to 166 since becuz 2700 has 333 FSB..if i leave the bios settings alone at the 100 fsb settins then everything works fine..its when i change the fsb that i get the shutdown...my mother board is a PCchips tidalwave "w30"..in case that matters
__________________

__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Never heard of that mobo. Sounds like it's simply overheating unless your PSU isn't up to par or something which I doubt is the case here, unless it's simply dying.

Check your temps when it's at 200FSB, if they are high, then it is infact overheating once you set it to it's correct FSB
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

im not sure how to check the temp besides in the bios..can i check the temp while im booted up and stuff..??? if so.then how?
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the BIOS is where you'd want to read temps anyway. As other motherboard monitoring programs generally read from the same diode that the BIOS does.

You can try motherboard monitor 5 or speedfan, but I don't know if that motherboard brand is listed.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.