CPU temps at 100% load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2009, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 47
Default CPU temps at 100% load

Hi guys!

so i have finally got my build up and running! and ive been running Prime95 to stress the system! and been using Core Temp and System Fan (i think that what its called! ugh! i forget!).

These are the temps that i get!




like....im not getting it.....so i closed everything down...and then i went into the bios and im running at like 50c? so i dunno guys?

Sorry about the picture size! i didnt realise it would come out so big!
__________________

Leatherface is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

Are you using the stock heatsink? The stock heatsink comes with thermal paste pre-applied. Did you happen to smear it or clean it off by mistake? Is the fan running? If your using an aftermarket heatsink did you use thermal paste? Is the fan blowing in the proper direction? What heatsink is it?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

Bios temp is going to be at idle. I assume this is with the stock cooler?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 47
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Are you using the stock heatsink? The stock heatsink comes with thermal paste pre-applied. Did you happen to smear it or clean it off by mistake? Is the fan running? If your using an aftermarket heatsink did you use thermal paste? Is the fan blowing in the proper direction? What heatsink is it?
Nopes im using the TRUE 120! and ya i used AS5.

when i turn it on before running Prime my temps are at 37c!

i was just wondering why the cores are so hot? and the temp1 is like at 47?
Leatherface is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

Your idling at 37dC and in the low 70's at load and your at stock speeds with Turbo mode enabled? AS5 isn't the best thermal paste anymore and your temps are likely a few degrees high because of that. Your temps are high for a True at stock speeds. I would lap the true, the base is probably rounded slightly (I've never seen one that wasn't). Lapping should put you in the low 30's at idle and the low 60's at load.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 47
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

yea the turbo is enabled! should i disable it? but i dont see how that would decrease the temps.... it only reaches those temps when its been running for a good 45mins! testing on the second option in Prime! the one that says something about maximum heat?

what is lapping? am i right in thinking that it is sanding the base down slightly? so there is more of the heatsink in contact with the cpu?
Leatherface is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 06:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

This is a stock speeds?

what is the ambient temp?

I still need to lap my true. have not had the time. at 3.4 40C idle 70C load ambient 25C.
How to Lap a Heatsink Guide - Overclockers Club
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 47
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

this is at stock

ambient room temp is 26c
Leatherface is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 06:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leatherface View Post
yea the turbo is enabled! should i disable it? but i dont see how that would decrease the temps.... it only reaches those temps when its been running for a good 45mins! testing on the second option in Prime! the one that says something about maximum heat?

what is lapping? am i right in thinking that it is sanding the base down slightly? so there is more of the heatsink in contact with the cpu?
You should be okay with Turbo mode enabled for now. It's not like your Prime testing it all the time. However, I wouldn't try overclocking it anymore until you lap it. And yes, lapping it means sanding it down to make the base flat so that you have a larger contact area.

Hefe has a good lapping guide linked for you in the post above
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 06:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: CPU temps at 100% load

Until you have time to lap you can turn down the vcore.

You should only need 1.1 to 1.15 to run at stock and that will help with the temps.

make sure and test stability with prime.

These do run hot. temps around 70C should not worry you with the i7.
But you are running too hot.
Try with the case open to see if that helps as you may need some more case fans.

Do you have a pic of your true mount. a remount may be in order as well.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best CPU I can get............ hesson81 System Upgrades 15 02-12-2009 08:44 PM
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2008 12:01 AM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
Max Operating Temperature = CPU Temp or Core Temps? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 2 09-28-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.