CPU temperature - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2005, 08:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default CPU temperature

hey all

i have:

Asus A8V-E mobo
AMD 64 3800+
Radeon x850 xt pe

when my pc is idle the CPU temperature (according to Asus PC Probe which came with mobo) is somewhere between 50 and 60 degrees C, and when i play a game like hl2 after a few minutes the probe program starts beeping at me because the temp has hit 72 (the limit the program set itself to after install)

anybody got any ideas on what i should do?

jondo is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r

wow those are insane temps....make sure the HSF is installed correctly and if it still is like that then you might have a faulty sensor. also try checking the temp in the BIOS, most of the new bios's have that feature.....it's more acurate than asus probe too

H4x3r is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118

It sounds like you don't have any thermal paste or a very slow CPU fan in your system.

I'd take the heatsink off the processor, remove any old thermal paste and replace it with some new paste.

If that doesn't help, look into getting a new heatsink/CPU fan.

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Did you put some paste on the chip before you installed it? Does your CPU fan appear to be working properly? I would put Artic silver on there and replace the stock h/s and fan with a zalman. Do you have proper air flow in the case?
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8

the heatsink had paste pre-applied, i may have scratched the layer when installing it

what would u suggest to ensure good air flow? at the moment there are cables everywhere...
jondo is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363

Preapplied? I recommend that you get a new HSF. Maybe a new case perhaps?

Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 01:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499

Ok, for some reason most barebone kits are poorly put together for good airflow. Here's some steps I took that made a huge difference. I used to be running around those same temps until I changed things around:

1. Took off the heatsink/fan that came with my barebones kit and threw it out the window. Bought a new one that fits and works much better.
2. Bought some AS5 and applied it as per the instructions.
3. Cut a hole in the top of my case and installed an 80mm fan to blow out hot air.
4. Bought an 80mm to 120mm adapter to install a 120mm fan for intake.
5. Bought another 80mm to help in the back exhaust. (Remember, exhaust fans should be pushing more air than intake fans)
6. Threw out those crappy flat IDE cables and purchases rounded IDE's.

Now, at full load... my temps are well below 40degrees celcius.
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821

Yeah, I made darn sure I had good airflow. At first, my rear fans were set to intake (as was the front) and the top and side were set to exhaust. I changed the side around and the back ones (had to use my own little mod for the side) and now I see temps like 32 c at idle, while before it was at around 50 c when idle.

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.