CPU Temp on XP 2600+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2004, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Question CPU Temp on XP 2600+

Well, after the computer kept shutting of I removed the heatsink and put it back on and it finally started and after trying to figure everything out and tried installing windows it shut off again.

I look in the Bios and it says the CPU temp was 88 degrees C

Is that a fried CPU now?

Guess it wasn't smart to not apply the thermal grease I didn't see that came in the fan box..
__________________

__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default

has your bios got a feature enabled that shuts your computer down at a certain temperature or was it just cutting out?
__________________

Akm2k is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Akm2k
has your bios got a feature enabled that shuts your computer down at a certain temperature or was it just cutting out?
I haven't a clue. It's running fine now that I've put on the thermal grease, forgot to take out the Windows XP cd-rom so couldn't check the temp in the BIOS again, but now it's formatting the HDD and hasn't shut off so I'm sure the problem is solved and my CPU isn't fried..

*sigh*

I hate computers
__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I hate computers
Why? That was the end-users fault not the computers

But yeah you came pretty damn close to frying it. You should check your BIOS because generally most newer ones have safety shut off temperatures or at the very least warning temps. So check for that and put it around 65C although with a 2600+ XP you should be down in the 40's and hitting 50's on full load.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Default

I went back into the Bios and it was sitting at 38C after I added the thermal grease.

I know it was my fault. I haven't built a computer in over 4 years. Kinda crazy I knew more about this stuff when I was 13/14 than I do now.

*sigh*
__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

Yeah i oc'd my old 2600+ to 2.3ghz and it stayed at 47c. That is really hot though.
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 11:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: CPU Temp on XP 2600+

Quote:
Originally posted by sKaD
Well, after the computer kept shutting of I removed the heatsink and put it back on and it finally started and after trying to figure everything out and tried installing windows it shut off again.

I look in the Bios and it says the CPU temp was 88 degrees C

Is that a fried CPU now?

Guess it wasn't smart to not apply the thermal grease I didn't see that came in the fan box..
thermal grease is a start. Making sure you have a good quality fan (not the fans from AMD) would be advisable too.

I am a bit fan (ha ha... get it?) of Thermaltake Volcanos or Silent Boosts. My 2600 under load is about 41c.

All in all, it does sound like you have an overheating issue, and you will need to deal with it SOON!
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 11:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sKaD
I went back into the Bios and it was sitting at 38C after I added the thermal grease.

I know it was my fault. I haven't built a computer in over 4 years. Kinda crazy I knew more about this stuff when I was 13/14 than I do now.

*sigh*
BEEN THERE DONE THAT!
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default

I highly doubt that your temp is 88 degrees.
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cherubimon_3.20
I highly doubt that your temp is 88 degrees.
Ditto. Like accordng to my MSI MoBo Bios, my smaller computer normally is at 117c. Plus last year I had a few computer that were sitting on 90c.

One of the reasons why I find having a third party termparture gauge is more realable.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.