CPU temp too high! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 09:48 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wayniac
This is kind of off the subject, but out of curiosity, has anyone made their CPU fan go to 0 rpms? I am dying to try it, just because of curiosity, but I know damn well it would probably hurt my CPU if I did.
LOL, it could just be the wrong settings in the program, check out mine.



Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:33 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Heh heh, y'know what? I think your right, i just booted up speedfan again and it said this:





LOL
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:38 AM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wayniac
This is kind of off the subject, but out of curiosity, has anyone made their CPU fan go to 0 rpms? I am dying to try it, just because of curiosity, but I know damn well it would probably hurt my CPU if I did.

yep. just sticked a finger to the fan and watched how fast the temps rose. not as fast as i would've expected. the cpu was (and still is) a 1 Ghz Athlon.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:40 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Doing that is very bad for you fan. I would never force my fan to stop by applying pressure to it...
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:52 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

c'mon u gotta show em who's the master in da house
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:58 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Also i installed MBM5 on my machine and it supposedly was meant to support my MOBO but i got the same warning u got. My CPU got to about 86*C and the PC shut itself down to prevent damage. After i un-installed MBM5 i had no problems.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 05:25 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Im getting a DFI mobo soon though. Ideally i would like to get a 939 mobo and processor, but i dont have the money so im stuck getting a DFI lan party 754 for about £70... oh well, it beats my 'acer' mobo anyday!
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.