CPU Temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default CPU Temp

Hi,

I am currently running a P4 3.2Ghz (1MB L2) (not OCed)

Idle temp is around 50-55 (122F) and Full load is 65-69.

Now when i put this computer together it was fine for about a month then the Mobos overheat detector started going off everynow and then (telling me my CPU was running over 60C) so i took the CPU off cleaned the heatsink (stock heatsink) and put some new thermal past on (vantec thermal compound ) but it was still running hot.

Then i rememberd when i was shopping around for the CPU at internet sites one of the sites said something like "this CPU runs quite alot hotter than the 3.2 512 L2) so i went into the bios and set the CPU temp warning to 80)(Why 80? because Full load 69C and i dont want it to go off everytime my CPU hits 70C) and its been fine since.

But i just thought i should check with some people who know more about computers than me. Is this temp ok? and if its not what can i do?

(Currently have 1 Case fan since thats all my case supports)
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

That should be OK. My 3Ghz runs at 66 degrees under load. It's because the Prescott core is hot, but they're designed to cope with it.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

I would try getting Artic Silver 5, that might help cooling.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

i had a similar concern not to long ago about my P4 runnin at the same 55-60 temps. I went out and bought a canned of compressed air and gave my whole computer (including the cpu) a nice clean and now my cpu runs at 35 C Idle.

Quite the improvement, try it.

Cheers-
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You need artic silver 5 for it
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

SHEESH, thats really hot, thankfully my Dell doesn't tell me the temp!
Anyhow, get an aftermarket HSF and a tube of arctic silver...

Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

I have celeron 2.7ghz running at around 92*F.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.