CPU temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2005, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default CPU temp

Is there any way that i can find out my CPU temperature? After reading some of the posts on here i wanted to find out myself. Is there a specific program?
__________________

smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Motherboard Monitor
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download311.html
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Cheers!!!
__________________
http://www.xero-systems.co.uk

I am a partner in the above website, and would be happy to help you configure a fully built PC on a budget. PM me or contact mark@xero-systems.co.uk
smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Just another thing. Ive got an AMD XP 2400+. What would you expect me to see with regards to temperatures?
__________________
http://www.xero-systems.co.uk

I am a partner in the above website, and would be happy to help you configure a fully built PC on a budget. PM me or contact mark@xero-systems.co.uk
smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Probably in the mid 40's, Celcius (which is what most on here use for CPU temps, even Americans like me).

I have an Athlon XP 2000+ and it runs around 44-45 idle.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default

I've got 52. Is that OK?
__________________
http://www.xero-systems.co.uk

I am a partner in the above website, and would be happy to help you configure a fully built PC on a budget. PM me or contact mark@xero-systems.co.uk
smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea, that should be fine.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

52 is pretty high, but you probably got a prescott so i dunno about that, although i do know that prescotts run hotter than other processors
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

http://www.heatsink-guide.com/maxtemp.htm

This offers a bit of advice on max temperatures and voltages.
This topic is a bit sparse on the internet though because, while max temps aren't hard to find, a broader or more specific temp range is hard to find.
My board monitors CPU, Memory and MB temp and has reboot or shutdown enabled when critical temps are approaching.

Unfortunately, you can't view the real-time temp unless you're looking in BIOS.

They make products that monitor and display your temps in real-time. Usually they're made to fit in a 5.25" or 3.5" bay and range from $20 to $80.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 08:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

That' the beauty of Motherboard Monitor. It will display your temps without going into BIOS. Plus it can put them in your system tray.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.