CPU temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default CPU temp

I have a dell 1150 with 512 mb ram and a pentium 4 2.66ghz processor. i didnt really want to waste cpu cycles so i got this program that lets your cpu run computations for research. and the problem is this. after only about 1 min or so i have a cpu temp of about 73 degrees, which i think is excessive. is there a problem with it being that hot, ? i dont know? i just dont want to melt anything internally. i dont know why it gets so hot so fast either, is that the sign of another problem, maybe with the cooling or something?

id appreciate any thoughts
thank you
__________________

jeffy is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

By 73 degrees, I'll take it that you are in Celcius, not Farenheit. If that is the case, then 73 is a smidge bit on the warm side. You may want to consider getting some more fans in your case, but you have a Dell, so chances are you won't be able to put many, if not, any fans in at all. You may also want to go get yourself some thermal paste for you CPU.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

And if you're talking about Farenheit you're laughing 22*C is actually on the cool side for an unmodded computer.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea you might want to add fans if it is 72*c
its going to be hard to upgrade your heatsink because you are going to have to take everything apart. dell is not good for upgrading.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 08:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Psssh, no company built comps are good for upgrading. They make their parts so wierd and only THEIR kind of junk will fit in it! Thus, making you purchace a totally new $1000+ comp!!! Grrrr...hiss, hiss.
Regulus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.