CPU temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2004, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Question CPU temp

HI all,
I just installed a new cpu - amd xp 2700+ - and it works around 55 C - is that normal? no heavy programs running
thank you
Dimitris
__________________

darlac is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

That seems high for idle
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

No, that really isn't normal. When i had stock cooling I could get down to about 40 c Under no load and sometimes up to 50 if it was a quite heavy load. But I have a Athlon 900 so there is some diffrence there. Try upgrading you hsf. I got a volcano 12 and it's loud as hell but cools pretty good.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Hi thanks for the davoce,
it seems to operate kind of better now - ~50C -
with a couple of programs running -
the pc case is open - so I guess fan cooling is not an issue -
I have an abit kw7 - is there any setting I can do to increase fan speed - in order to cool cpu down?

thanks,
Dimitris
darlac is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Fan speed...hmm...I have heard of people actually increasing the voltage of the fan, but that is very dangerous and I don't recommend it. Is your fan stock?

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default

the cpu fan is the original (I bought the retail package cpu)
the system fan - yes it is stock
Dimitris
darlac is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Get a new heatsink and fan set from one of the links below.

www.newegg.com
www.pctoys.com
www.tigerdirect.com

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks Dan,
Can you recommend a specific one?
thank you!
Dimitris
__________________

darlac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.