cpu speed drop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2004, 01:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default cpu speed drop?

When i got my 3.00ghz its was sounding so powerful that my desk was shaking sometimes,I could run a lot of programs together like antivirus,firewall,explorer,p2p and playing games without losing much fps.The sound was pretty loud!
Now it is so silent...and ive hard time surfin on the net while running an antivirus and downloading stuff.Its like in a month my speed dropped a lot.Could this be a cpu issue? or ram? all this is brand new...ive found seven JS:Trojans,deleted them,and its not much faster..ran adwares removers too.

I remember 2 times where i lost temporarly electricity in my building so the comp shutted suddenly.Could the bios settings have changed??:amazed:
__________________

mal is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 02:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

What sound do u mean? Noise?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 02:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well generally when you get a virus it tears your system up pretty good regardless if you removed it. I'd suggest you format, especially if it's been a while since you've done so. It sounds like you've just had too much spyware and couple virus's on there which will slow down your HD's capabilities of loading things, this is what's causing slow down possibly, not the CPU.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 02:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

The major> hard to tell precisely...lets say the normal sound of a pc,but much more louder than my old 1.6ghz.Very much!With a lot of variations,from silent to loud.Very loud when playing games.I could feel the power!But now its always silent.No anormal noise

Nubius>mmh i wouldnt like to reformat...Its a clean install on a brand new hard-drive.In all this time(about a month) ive got some spywares,only the usual unoffensives.And those 7 JS:Gummy,JS:this JS:that...On my old pc ive found much more viruses and never noticed that kind of speed drop.

But id say the thing i find odd is the sound change...

My power supply is 3 years old,and ive ran my pc everyday and often 24/24.Can the PS be so used that it doesnt give enough power anymore?

Thanks,
mal is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Can the PS be so used that it doesnt give enough power anymore?
well yeah...how do you think PSU's die out? Simply over time
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

so it could be one of the cause of a computer drop speed?
mal is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i don't think a PSU can cause a speed drop. If ur PSU is broken ur comp simply won't boot.

I would format.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what OS are you running?
if you're running 2000 or XP you can press ctrl+alt+del and see which proceses are taking up your CPU time
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 09:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

I'd like to clear something up here (or try). As far as I know, a CPU alone makes no audilbe sound. The beastly sound you were hearing was your hard drive, not the cpu. Your hard drive is spinning at ~7200rpm while your cpu doesn't really move.

(...I used to think the same thing quite a while ago )
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 10:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default

all your fans still spinning? that's the loudest thing in my pc.
__________________

regeisle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.