CPU/RAM Compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2010, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Question CPU/RAM Compatibility

Is there a way to tell how much RAM a CPU can handle? I read in another thread that the ratios don't really matter with modern PC's...

Lets say hypothetically my XYZ MoBo can support up to 16GB of DDR2 or DDR3 RAM and I max it out to that 16GB... how do I know how much my CPU can handle/process? Or is it basically infinite?
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: CPU/RAM Compatibility

Don't think the ratio matters, at least in these modern times. If you maxed it out, don't think it would have an effect on the CPU. That's my views though, wait for more responses lol.

Edit: You could also read up here or here to see if it helps.
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: CPU/RAM Compatibility

Yea I'm pretty sure the ratios dont matter now. But if you had 32GB or RAM and a dual core of some sort... I'm sure something has to bottleneck somewhere.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: CPU/RAM Compatibility

From what I've read in the two websites I edited in my previous thread, it's not the capacity of RAM that matters, but the speed compared to the FSB on the motherboard.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: CPU/RAM Compatibility

It isnt the CPU that matters. At all. It is the mother board. The mother board is the factor is this. The mother board will determine how much RAM can be supported. After the mother board it is the Operating System. The CPU will handle and use what ever amount you have installed as long as the mobo and OS can handle it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: CPU/RAM Compatibility

This was a very good question though. When I read it I thought, "Hey ya what about that?"
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: CPU/RAM Compatibility

But like i said it all comes down to the mobo. As it is the mobo that places these RAM limits on the person, not the CPU chip itself. Just like in the example. He states the mobo can handle 16GB. Well that is exactly what the CPU will be able to handle. If the CPU cant handle it, then it isnt compatible with that mobo and the question is null cause it doesnt apply.

See ho quickly this turns into a catch 22 situation. So your fitting the CPU to the mobo and since the mobo has the RAM restriction on it, that will be what that CPU can handle. I know for a fact that people use my CPU on mobo setups that can handle more than 8GB. But that is all my mobo can. So it isnt the CPU at all, it is the mobo. Everything revolves around that. It is the circulatory system to the CPU and RAM.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 08:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: CPU/RAM Compatibility

I may be wrong but if it's a 64bits processor then it's registers to map the memory are of 64bits, so the cpu can handle 2^64 bits of memory.
__________________

__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with compatibility jaceh14 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 01-28-2007 08:03 PM
no compatibility here? synth7 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-03-2006 10:53 PM
Compatibility c0mmun1st4lyf3 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-01-2005 08:58 AM
TV In/Out compatibility coffee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 07-28-2005 06:50 AM
compatibility ShadowDragon Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 08-26-2004 02:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.